To Maths or not to maths, that is the question

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Today has been a trying, but good day.

As you all know, I have two students. One, I teach full time and the other (his younger brother) I help after school.

The eldest has entered the stage of " I am almost done, time to start working." So when it comes to him I'm not the least bit worried. His younger brother on the other hand has reach the point of not caring or not wanting to work, I can't tell.

This is not a ranting post but rather a search for help and motivation.
Dill is in grade 10 which means that he can choose between having "normal" mathematics or mathematics literature.
This type of maths is the type one would use in your everyday life and is also not accepted when applying to university. Standard Maths may open a few doors but it takes practice and understanding.

I was not particularly bright while at school but I passed it and could continue studying it all through university.
I think it has to do with the fact that one understands it or one does not.

I have seen Dill battle the entire year and can't help but feel sorry for him. He is a very intelligent student and has the ability to do great things. What bothers me is the fact that he does not try on his own. He is able to complete an entire worksheet when he is with me but as soon as he has to complete an assessment or write a test, he blanks out.

I am worried because I am not sure if it is something that can be changed or helped.

The backup plan his parents had come up with was to take away the subjects that has him stressed and allow him to take the easiest way through school. In exactly one day they had already decided what he would study upon finishing school and that he will complete his masters degree in Psychology.
With this idea, I don't really have a problem. They're his parents and they know what is best for their child but being the person that I am and having interest in the exact subject that they are passing off as easy I cannot help but feel a bit annoyed.

They are pushing him into a certain angle that I have never heard him speak of or have a particular interest in. This might make things worse and may cause him to end up not studying at all and that is something I would not want.

I am worried, tired and cannot help but feel frustrated by the entire situation.

Are they doing the best thing by making him take easier subjects when he has the capability of so much more?

I am hoping that the December holiday arrives swiftly for this year has been one too long...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88