Do You Know How to Eat an Elephant? Day 13 of the Total Writer Transformation

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

In order to raise hope and inspire his troops during a particularly tough battle at war, a General gave a speech which included the now famous phrase, "the best way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time."

This phrase is now used as universal motivation for large or seemingly impossible tasks. Businesses and entrepreneurs alike incorporate the solution. By "taking one bite at a time," you are breaking the project up into smaller, easily done pieces, so it is not so intimidating. You still have to accomplish the whole thing, but by doing little bits at a time you have a feeling of accomplishment and it does not seem so imposing. Simply by changing perspective and looking at the smaller pieces that make up the whole, you will not be so overwhelmed and the project feels more "doable." This subconsciously raises your productivity level and morale, allowing an easier completion of the task.

Take the last two days for me. I have been overwhelmed by a number of unfavorable events caving in at me all at once. All negative, all adverse, and all brought upon me by forces beyond my control. I have been dealing with all of these at once, plus my normal daily activities such as earning a living and raising a family. Two days ago I had a nervous breakdown. Because I have felt overwhelmed by the sheer size of the obstacles, I have been attacking them at their full size in a desperate attempt to eradicate them as quickly as possible. But I am just one small human so I was crushed. Had I had the foresight to break them up into digestible pieces, I would have been able to slice the monsters at their Achilles and still have energy to continue battling. But the subsequent burn-out was so severe I suffered physical complications and could not accomplish even one little thing.

I tell you what: I learned my lesson. No matter the obstacle, no matter the size, if you break it down you can conquer and accomplish anything!

Examples

You have a career changing project due by Friday. When things are large sometimes we don't know where to begin. By breaking up the to-do's and making a list you take control and have tasks that can be accomplished. Monday: research. Tuesday: outline. Wednesday: type rough draft, etc.

Writing a novel is a big task that leaves many manuscripts gathering dust. But by breaking it up into do-able pieces- say 800 words per night or 30 minutes per day. Or outline by this Friday and character descriptions by next Friday then first chapter by the Friday after- you set yourself up for success.

Spring cleaning and organizing is an often put off project. Break it up into small chunks by focusing on one room at a time.

Do you know how to eat an elephant?

One bite at a time.


Today's Challenge

As a writer, what have you been putting off? What feels so daunting? Decide what it is you want to accomplish and break it up into small, easily accomplished tasks. Make a list and post it where you will see it every day. Be sure to cross off each task as you complete it- it's amazing how satisfying crossing things off a list can feel!




Images via Creative Commons

Be a Better Writer in Just One Month! Join the 31 Day Writing Challenge to transform your writing and your life!

Day 1 The Truth About Making Time For Writing
Day 2 How to Incorporate Ideas From Life in Your Writing
Day 3 Master the Art of Captivating Your Readers
Day 4 Banishing Distractions
Day 5 Get Your Writing Noticed!
Day 6 The Importance of Morning Pages
Day 7 Why You Should Write Even if You're Not a Writer
Day 8 How to Personify an Object
Day 9 How to Use Writing Prompts to Improve Your Skills
Day 10 Why You Need an Email List
Day 11 There is a Best Time to Write!
Day 12 Your Future Path



I appreciate your support :)





If you find this article after day 7, please consider upvoting a recent article.


Sort:  

Wow .
@arbitrarykitten amazing .
Break it into small pieces and then face .

Life is make from small pieces . earth the universe all thing all made from small things . this idea is every where around us . but we dont think what the world say what the life says

If want to rise up on stairs so for that you will go step by step . missing any step will give lose your more power . stamina and balance . so just like that in our life . how ever the problems are . how much they are but the main thing is to solve them step step . as you say break into pieces .

Dont be worry @arbitrarykitten. Its your time to prove your self .
Obstacles and problems are the part of life but the thing is how you face them . thats the meaning of life .

Keep it up and never forgive .
Drops of what make the ocean.

You are so right- life itself is made up of small pieces. So, naturally, we must break things up into small pieces for the natural flow ;)

Thank you <3

One bite at a time... absolutely!

Author Mike Dooley, about 15 years ago, offered a monthly cd of recorded information through subscription... then HAD to come up with each month's material as he went along, since people had already subscribed and paid for a year's worth of monthly cds. The result was a book and audio program called, Infinite Possibilities, which has been an international best-seller. The point being that he broke the material into 12 parts, then wrote and recorded one of the parts each month for a year until the whole thing was written.

Oh wow, I did not know that. Great inspirational story!

Good Job @arbitrarykitten to put those Elephants into perspective............

HA! Well played :)

This was a really great post. Recently I've found myself in the same boat and I genuinely feel for you and the struggles you're going through. But more importantly, your drive to turn things around and your ability to accept your struggles as a lesson learned are very inspiring. Well done to you!

Hello!! how are you ...
This publication is very interesting
the truth that many of us in our daily lives, we want all at once,
and when we can not, we give up.
And we do not study the situation.
Excellent everything.

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-15 at 10.16.24 PM.jpeg

I also owed you this homework!

I did it today, I drew 30 circles to see if it would help me to better imagine myself in my next publication.

I really do not know if it worked!
but I could write my publication that I will post it tomorrow,
The good thing is that I finish it and I am very well.
or so I think!

Awesome! I can't wait to read your post tomorrow!

Hello, I just made my Mukumbarí teleferico publication.
I do not know if you understand Spanish.
I hope you like it !

This is my favorite phrase to use at work @arbitrarykitten honestly. I work with many Japanese Engineers and the phrase is unheard of to them. The other day I explained it to a coworker and he genuinely seemed to appreciate it as a proverb of sorts.

Great minds... :)

This phrase should be accepted as a proverb!

Very interesting! We cannot achieve things in a moment. We can get there by working moment to moment. Break down the work load into achievable bits and focus on completing one bit comprehensively at a time to make it a whole. Great thinking!

I useful have this challenge of trying to take the problem at it's full size (I still do), but one solution I am currently exploring is the use of stick it note on my calendar. I bought a big size calendar and put it up my wall, then when I have something at sight, I break them down to daily activities and stick it to the calendar on via particular date I hope to achieve it. So far it's helping me stay organized and effective.

Agree fully. When I was in the corporate world, we called this "disaggregating the tasks". We set up milestones to keep the employees motivated every step of the way in accomplishing more complex work.

Great advice @arbitrarykitten. You know I never heard that phrase about the elephant. But it sure makes perfect sense.

I don't think there is any other animal that would be as appropriate to use that analogy.

Anyway, thanks for the Post and also please take care of yourself and don't over do it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27