Reading, Reading and More Reading!

I'm all about taking some time out of my day and basically de-stressing if i feel the need to. But about 98% of the time when I should be occupying myself with something more productive, I'd be using it to go on either YouTube, Buzzfeed and of course my ultimate favourite, Pinterest. Now, you can obviously find some very interesting stuff to read on those sites and learn a thing or two but the problem is that when I go on those sides I just look at stupid things.

It was only until recently when I started to take some time off being on my laptop and phone and began doing jigsaw puzzles! I found out that they have so many amazing health benefits and decided to try them out myself. But lately I've felt the need to do more. I felt like I should go back to reading more, preferably books, something that will keep me on my toes and get me excited about reading. When I was younger I loved reading books then as I grew up I got hooked on phones and texting and lost track of all that...until now of course. 

We all know that by reading we're stimulating our minds and we learn a lot of words and bookworms find it to be extremely relaxing but what else can you benefit from reading books? 

Lets be honest, reading is beautiful! You end up being transported into another universe, where anything and everything is possible. It's an amazing escape from reality and all the stuff you are going through. You're allowing yourself to be more imaginative and letting your mind go wild! While you read you paint pictures in your head of whatever is being said in the book, which is quite fun. 

You're giving your brain a well needed workout! When you read you're storing all the important information that you've read such as the names of the characters, the main plot and basically whatever the characters are doing. Reading also decreases your chances of developing Alzheimer's. So, what better way of starting your day? 

I know for a fact that the more I read, the more I learn new words and writing styles which help me get better at writing, especially since I am not a writer. It definitely improves your writing.

By reading a hard copy rather than an e-book, you can retain much more information, plus it was proven that people who read more get higher marks on tests and the more you take time out of your day to read books the faster you'll become at reading. 

Reading can also help people who suffer from depression, it obviously helps them escape from reality and not have to deal with whatever problems they're facing and in that moment they are in a place of complete serenity. People also end up reducing stress by almost 70%.

The best feeling in all of this is actually completing the book, especially if you reward yourself! It's an awesome way of challenging yourself and having something to look forward to. 


Remember, the more you read the smarter you become, so pick up a book and enjoy!


Image sources: 

source 1

source 2




Sort:  


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04