Puppet Making, Part 5: Arms, Legs & Tail!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Cover-Part5.png

BMB-chalkdots.png

Oh my word. I was AWFUL about taking photos during this part! I don't know if I was just distracted or in a hurry to finish. Knowing me, it was a little, or rather a lot of BOTH! Forgive me for this slightly scattered post. I will soon be on such a roll... that... holy cow. I just forgot what I was going to say. I need to stop thinking when I type!

These are the "How To" posts from when I made my puppet, "Bean" a few years ago. I unearthed them on my computer and decided to share. You can find all of my previous steps of puppet making at the end of this post!

BMB-chalkdots.png

This was what the kids called "Zombie Monkey"

BMB-5-1.png

BMB-chalkdots.png

I cut out the feet pattern pieces...

BMB-5-2.png

And then added monkey "toes"

BMB-5-3.png

BMB-chalkdots.png

The arms, legs and tail were all basically long rectangles that I sewed up length wise. The legs flared a little bit at the bottom, but that was it. Pretty basic, really, so I guess that's why I didn't think to take pictures.

BMB-chalkdots.png


BMB-5-4.png

Boy, did the hands look weird before they were stuffed!

BMB-5-5.png

I stuffed the feet with batting...after having to start over when I sewed the feet on wrong :(

BMB-5-6.png

After they were stuffed, I had to tuck the ends of the fabric in and pin it to hopefully make it so that when I stitched the feet up, they weren't all lumpy!

BMB-chalkdots.png

We tried various things for eyes and ended up using round styrofoam balls. In hindsight, I wished I had looked harder to find real "eyes" like they make for dolls and stuff, because the styrofoam didn't hold up well. When I do this again, I will definitely use something meant for the project. I was always having to touch the eyes up with sharpie.

BMB-5-7.png

BMB-chalkdots.png

We used a wire hanger to slide inside the tail. We tried other wire, but it was SO heavy. And the hanger actually bends easier, too. It made it nice to be able to form the tail however we needed it for a scene, so it wasn't just randomly hanging down all the time.


BMB-5-8.png

BMB-chalkdots.png

Here is my hubby demonstrating the poseable hands he made me. He's so proud:)

BMB-5-11.png

Um... no, honey. This is a children's puppet.

BMB-chalkdots.png

I took the poseable hands and hand stitched them onto a white "sleeve".

I used some of this rolled up like a pinwheel and hot glued the edges to slide into the arm and leg "sleeves" for a little bit of padding, and to help them stay a little more firm/in shape.

BMB-5-12.png

I then hand sewed the arms and legs onto the body!

BMB-5-13.png

Ta Da!!!

BMB-chalkdots.png

You can find more information in my previous posts

Thumb-beans-monkey-biz-collage-250.png

Puppet Making Part 1:Making the Head & Body

Thumb-BMB-Cover-part2.png

Part 2: Making of the Mouth

Thumb-BMB-part3.png

Part 3: Creating the Skin

BMB-4.png

Part 4: Making Poseable Hands

BMB-chalkdots.png

Next week we'll touch on some of the other aspects of the creation of a puppet show... and then I'll post a video or two that @knightengale rescued from an old computer for me!

BMB-chalkdots.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

BMB-chalkdots.png

And some of my other more recent posts:

What Would You Do with One Million Dollars in 24 hours?

One-Million.png

Sunday Funnies: When Cats Get Bored, Letters from a Boat Cat

tempest-16.png

Try Something NEW Tuesday: I did a Rap Karaoke Video!

TSNT-eminem-rap.png

Heartbroken "Saying Good-Bye" Freewrite

saying-goodbye.png

BMB-chalkdots.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited/linked to their source
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

I attended a puppet workshop when I was in Jr. High.

It was pretty cool!

I got to make my own puppet and participated in a show.

My puppet was a background singer in a performance of The Lion Sleeps Tonight for the play at the end of the whole deal.

Oh that sounds like FUN! I wish I'd had something cool like that back in school.

BTW, I'm going to have that song in my head now!!!

I'm thinking that it might be fun to hold a puppet making workshop. I am going to have to think on this one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71