Sort:  

"If you are writing about ethnicity, pick a name from the ethnic group."

This is where a lot of Nigerian writers on Steem lose my attention, I'm sorry to say. If I were to stress that any further, I'll add the appropriate use of images to push the story. I see many African-set stories using photos with places and people inconsistent with the story. No photo beats inappropriate photo every time.

I totally agree with you that character development is integral I'm crafting a good fiction story. While I wouldn't use "clone", I echo that taking after real life characters is a useful tip to have in the trick bag. You don't want Aunty Aisha who picks her nose to identify herself in your "fiction" story. Lol.

I agree with that. African writers make that mistake a whole lot.

Maybe 'clone' came off too strong. Aunty Aisha may pick up a book and identify herself but it wouldn't be her name on it hahaa
I get your point though. What I was trying to say is to find familiar characters and work with them.

Wonderful tips that I put into practice and which will serve me in my profession .. Choose a story and give life to certain characters is not easy, but after you get past the first obstacle, the ideas then flow more easily. Good post .. I support you.

I invite you to visit my profile and assess my writing if it is to your liking ... Thank you.

It isn't always easy but it gets better with practice.
Thanks for reading.

An excellent read dear, and a good reward to go with that too!. I'd recommend this to anyone looking to write something worth keeping on the shelves. Resteemed!

I don't believe story telling is becoming stale, actually. See, it's the bane of every generation to think its getting worse off than the previous one. Those 20th century genuises thought they were going stale too.

Maybe fiction really is going stale then, century by century. But given the numbers of dope writers I've read both in this century and the last, I seriously doubt it.

Brilliant write-up, though.

Cheers,
Ras.

Such great tips on building better characters and in turn better stories. Hopefully writers can come away from your post with a new angle they can use while creating their own characters, whether it be a master villain on the level of a Bond nemesis, or simply a clone of their quirky neighbor. Thanks for sharing these insights.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted mid-evening Monday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Hello, @randomwanderings. I'm happy to be nominated, and yes, you can quote text or feature images from the post.

Here is a brief statement about me and what I do:

My name is Chinyere. I'm Nigerian. I love literature, art, nature and everything beautiful. I love to read and I love to write. My writings range from fiction to non-fiction and poetry. I started taking writing seriously two years ago. Before then, it was scribbles and unfinished stories here and there.

Right now, I'm focusing more on fiction, women, children and book reviews while developing my writing skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83