KP's Teacher Tales #25: Differentiating With A Little Help From My Friends

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

This week's @steemiteducation homework is to talk about how you as a teacher integrate children with special needs into your classroom.


So what I would like to do is give a shout out to all of the educational assistants out there. Having an EA (or whatever your school may call them) in the room is integral to student success. An educational assistant has to be incredibly flexible, because their job description can vary from day to day. Ultimately, they are there to ensure that the student(s) they are working with experience educational and social triumphs, in whatever form that may look like. That being said, what I find is that when I have an EA in the room, they are not just working with the student they are "assigned" to, but all kids.
As a teacher, differentiation is one of our jobs. We need to make sure that the material and learning we are facilitating is appropriate for all learners in our room. Sometimes this is just impossible to accomplish without help, especially when considering high needs children.

A good EA is patient.


I've seen very upset kids yelling at their EA. I've seen the EA standing, calmly, like a lighthouse in a storm, waiting for the child to calm down. I've seen them forgive hurtful words, and physical harm. They keep coming back to work, knowing that either is likely to happen again. I've seen EA's patiently walking a child through a new concept, and not giving up until they see the light in their eyes. An EA just knows how to deal.

A good EA is kind.


My cousin is an EA and she is constantly buying things to give to the kids in the class she works with. Now, I don't think you have to buy gifts in order to be kind, but real talk EA's in my neck of the woods aren't high paid individuals. The fact that she buys things with her wages for the kids she works with is pretty incredible.

A good EA is collaborative.


As I tell my students, I know a lot about a little. Many of the EA's that I've worked with know like... a lot about a lot. They are amazing to have in the lesson planning process! I love tapping in to the interests of my colleagues. I also know that their knowledge regarding special needs can help in supporting all of our students.

A good EA has a sense of humour.


Because, how couldn't you, working with children. I love it when I see grown ass adults dancing around, or dressing up, or laughing uncontrollably with a bunch of kids.

A good EA IS A HUMAN.


Just like a good teacher is a human, and sometimes you don't feel "good" or like you're doing any good. You feel a little defeated, or tired, or sad. You do what you can to get by, and that's that. But just know that you ARE good! Great, even!

So thank you to all the really wonderful EA's out there. Thank you for making the kids feel included, triumphant, and valid. Thank you for facilitating learning, for everyone in the classroom--even the teachers!


thank-you.jpg
Source.

That's it! If you would like to read my last teacher post, check it out here:


KP's Teacher Tales #24: Reflections and End of Year Madness

P.S. my boyfriend Christopher @somebuttstuff is an EA and he works with kids both inside and outside of school. I legitimately think he is one of the best humans in the world. He is certainly all of the above. I couldn't write this post without recognizing (and subsequently probably embarrassing) him.

Sort:  

EA's play such an important role in the classroom in terms of both curriculum assistance and behaviour management. They help us plan, organize and deliver our lessons at times as well as provide help to our most needy students. I wrote a post not long ago about how we are losing an EA at our school next year. It is so frustrating to see these valuable resources cut.

I have a really hard time when supports are taken away. One of the worst things is when they say a child is doing well so they don't need something or someone anymore. They are doing well because of the accommodations and support they have. If you take them away abruptly, you're going to undue all the hard work that has been done, by the student and the staff.
I'm sorry that you're losing resources. So, so difficult.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89