Simple examination tips (Bounty for quality comments)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Exam can be scary especially when you are not ready mentally for it.

Scare exam.jpg
Image Source

This is going to be a short article to highlight simple things to do.

Before Exam

  • Know all the dates of your examinations
  • Schedule when to start revision

Plan.jpg
Image Source

  • Highlight and know what to revise
  • Set realistic targets
  • Get enough sleep the night before your exam

Sleep.png
Image Source

  • Let your parents keep your mobile phone and tablets to avoid distractions.
  • Prepare sufficient stationery in good condition
  • Wear a watch to manage your time during exam
  • Make sure you have a good breakfast
  • Visit the toilet before the start of exam

During Exam

Check.png
Image Source

  • Always stay calm to keep a clear mind
  • Check for missing pages
  • Write your name and class clearly
  • Know when to start and stop writing
  • Read all instruction carefully
  • Read all questions carefully before answering
  • Circle key words to ensure no careless mistakes
  • Do not waste time on difficult question.
    Circle that question, move on and come back to it later.
  • If you need to guess in a multiple-choice question, do so intelligently by eliminating impossible answers first
  • Put aside at least 5 to 10 minutes for checking answers
  • Look out for carelessness in tenses, spelling, punctuation, missing words, missing numbers or missing answers.

Disclaimer: This is my personal reflection and I am not in any position to instruct anyone what they should do. I am not responsible for any action taken as a result of this post. My post can only be a reference for your further research and growth. By reading this post, you acknowledge and accept that. All images and pictures were taken from google images that are free from copyright under labelled for reuse.

Sort:  

Interesting. Not long ago, I was still preparing for and eventually took my CISSP exams. Since young, my study style is always to take quick sprints with breaks in between. I will take 30 minutes to study on one topic and then take a break of maybe 15-30 minutes. May sound a little unorthodox but that worked for me.

During exams, I love those MCQs questions. I like to do a speed run to read through and answer as many questions as possible that I'm confident with. Then start working on those that I need to think further. This helps as there are always clues in some later questions for earlier questions and vice versa.

For questions I am really unsure, I try to make educated guesses through eliminating the obvious.

Thanks for your great advice and ideas!

I always put an allnighter before exams and hammer the knowledge into my head. Works every time :>

Thanks for your comment. Different people really work in different ways. Working the day before puts the information into your temporary memory but schedule of revision may make it slightly more lasting. It is true that many still find last minute revision can still work! Thanks for the visit!

I am sorry based on @steem-bounty info, you cannot upvote your own comment.

Free Resteem For Steem-Bounty Users

  • Your Post Got Upvote
  • Your Post Resteemed To 800+ Followers
    How it Work You can Check Here

Untitled-2.png

I have exam in 2 days.

Thx I will try some of these tips <3

Good point is to circle key words when doing the exam, because I tend to forget things in seconds. After I read the text I won't remember anything afterwards, maybe I am just bad at reading with my mind :D

Sometimes, the best method is the method that works for you. Finding your own style is really important to see great results. All the best for your coming exam!

Thank you :)

Yeah @fun2learn, these are vital tips, it's the same thing our guardians always tell us, but one little thing you pointed out that people always take for granted is the good sleep on the night before the exams. Really important! People spend the night reading and the next day being the exam they'd be battling with sleep in the hall. Lol.
Keeping a calm mind is also important, attention needs be paid to keeping away panic and tension. Cool tips in the end 👍

@nevies

Thank you for your positive feedback!

I have read once that it is good to have an ordinary yogurt before the exam. After that I always had yogurts. I finished the college, so there must be some good in this yogurt tip after all. :))) Of course, if you don't study no yogurt will help you either.

Spread out the schedule to study is still important. Yogurt perhaps can help to wake you up a little and calm you down.

Very good tips, thanks a lot!

You're welcome!

Thank you for reading!

Good tips, @fun2learn. Get enough sleep is one of the most important things to have before exam, I guess. When they come to the class with a fine condition, everything will run well as they expected.

Thank you for reading my article. Sleep is definitely important as a sleepy child cannot perform to its full potential.

Yupp, you can say that again. I noticed some of my students who didn't performed well during examination because of lacking of sleep. They learnt along the night for tomorrow's exam N it affected their condition a lot. In another case, some of them reasoned that they would easily memorize the learning materials/the concepts if they read and reviewed them a couple hour before the exam. Can we said it as style of learning?

Gracias Por tus buenos consejos amigo @fun2learn. esto me serviria de algo ya que entre 1 semana tengo examen,de mi nuevo proyecto en la uni Saludos desde VENEZUELA Dios te bendiga siempre

Gracias por leer y visitar mi artículo. ¡Lo mejor para su próximo examen!

Nice guide!

Exams can be difficult for some people. They were too for me up until the stage I decided not to be afraid of them anymore. A year back I was nervous about exams starting a day before it and started to forget more things than usually just because I was nervous. It took me some time to realize that there is literally nothing you can do at that point to change anything (there is literally just one thing you studied enough or not).

Therefore: Preparation is all! I started to start studying for exams the earliest it is possible that way I can coordinate better since I only need to study let's say one hour a day for 2-4 weeks (depending on the exam) to be prepared for it. I realized quickly studying this way leads to more free time for me and me being better prepared for exams in general.

Thank you for sharing your experience about the importance of making a schedule for revision.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22