High School Stories: The Star.

As a teacher, one of my greatest satisfactions is knowing that my students achieve their dreams. I have always told them, no matter what their dream is, everything is possible. Many of them have achieved it, I have doctors, reporters, engineers, lawyers, politicians and a shining star. He's, of course, my favorite star, and it fills me with immense pride because, despite everything, it's still basically the same person who came out of our classrooms in 2001 and that's why he's the protagonist of my High School history.

Source

In September 1996 our school opened its doors. Among the new second-year high school students was this small boy, very curly and short haired. I remember he was so small with respect to his group that we fondly called himMiguelito, he was so nice, that soon he made a lot of friends and won the love of his teacher. He was very good in sports, too. I must confess that I do not remember exactly when I found out that Miguelito had a great talent for music too. But in a school that just started, with relatively few students, in reality we were all in the early years as a large family and I guess that helped both Miguelito and the other teens who studied at the school for that time to establish a great connection with our school that, in many cases, still exists.

promo2000.azul.jpg

Nuestra Señora de Lourdes II School Collection.

What I remember as her coordinator in those years, is that he was an average student, who was not very interested in sciences but, as he himself stated years later, learned a lot from the hand of his professors of Literature, like my friend @chretien. That would serve him for one of his most outstanding facets: he is an excellent speaker, writer and communicator. During that adolescence elapsed in a normal way, he wrote his first songs, he fell in love in school, his heart broken, he rebuilt it, he made many friendships that he still conserves and he set up for the first time on stage in a formal way.

Being in 10th year, the "La Voz Lourdista" singing contest was held (in honor of the Virgin of Lourdes, the patron saint of the school), it was impressive to see the vocal quality achieved by Miguelito for that then about 15 years old. Of course, he won the contest. The winner had to go to represent our school in "La VozLiceísta". There he obtained the second place. I, who was there, attributed him not having won the kind of music of the aforementioned contest: llanera music, which was not his favorite. In fact the music coordinator has always commented that it cost a lot to find a song that was completely to your liking for that competition.

nacho.lourdista.jpg

Nuestra Señora de Lourdes II School Collection.

Miguel graduated from high school in our school, and the following year he willingly participated, at the request of our then Director, in a recording made by several students and alumni, of the national anthems, of the state Anzoátegui and the school. Several times after graduating he visited our school. His last visit to the school was in 2007. At that time he already sang in a youth group called CalleCiega, as on previous occasions, we received him with another ex-student in our office, we talked and even let him play futsal for a while in the court with the students. When I had a good time in the school, it was necessary to close the access to the administrative area of the school, because the girls of the school had learned of their presence and were like crazy. Although I did not listen to the kind of music that I was singing at that time, at that moment I knew that my beloved alumnus was nothing more and nothing less than a star
.

IMG_20160914_085142.jpg

In my office. Nuestra Señora de Lourdes II School Colllection

Since then I have followed his footsteps a bit more closely, and they have always been upwards! I had the chance to find it by chance several times, when I could still come to this city. And I know that every time he participates in a presentation, initially with CalleCiega or as part of the Chinese and Nacho duo, if he knew of the presence of someone from his school, he referred to him. The last time I saw him sing live was in 2011, when Chino was the big surprise at a 15-year-old party of a school girl. There were some of his teachers. When they came on stage, the guests shouted in rage. The quinceañera was enthralled, especially with the taller and more handsome of the two, Chino. I stayed behind to watch the concert calmly, without being shouted in my ear.

As only happens in movies, the star immediately recognized me. With a fit of laughter he pointed to me and said "go, Leila", I laughed and danced. After all, at that moment the truth is that, of the two, the favorite of most of the girls was Chinese. Then he realized that there was his director, his counselor, and of course, me. Then he said "how nice it is to be, among people so dear" and added a beautiful thank you to his school, noting that if it were not for us, it would not be there. It was one of those moments in which, as an educator, you understand that it is in those details where the reward is for having helped to educate and grow, to each of your students.

Photo taken with smartphone

Another special moment occurred in Latin Grammy afterparty. There were Chino, Nacho, Jean Franco and Paul, the last three graduated together. According to one of them, after winning the Latin Grammy, the celebration was so good that they commented that they had not had so much fun since their graduation party. They added that the only thing missing was Lula (the Director) and Leilany. The anecdote was funny to me, especially considering that I could not be at their graduation party! However, it moved me being reminded that day, so important for his career.

Nuestra Señora de Lourdes II School Collection

In a personal evolution process of his way of thinking, the now called Nacho decided to assume a political position with respect to our country. And even if that means that, for the moment, I won't find him somewhere in Puerto La Cruz, it makes me feel much more proud of him. Now he is one of the most popular and beloved singers in Venezuela, and the success he has is as great as his talent and his desire to continue working.
That's why I tell my students that everything is possible, because I know it!

Sort:  

As you said in your post, it's amazing to recognize some exceptional yound minds when you meet them.

I had at least one such person, a girl named Egle in our National M.K. Ciurlionis School of Art where I was her ear training teacher since the 7th grade.

One of my first experiences with her was during musical dictation assignment when I would play on the paino a melody some 9 times and the students would have to write it down in their notebooks.

This pianist girl, Egle, was usually done after 4 or so repetitions and later would stand up and walk around the class helping out other students who were either not as bright or not as fast as her.

The very first time she did it it was a shock to me - I felt like she was mocking me or making fun of me and almost wanted to order her to sit down. Almost... While in reality she was actually being my assistant.

Fast forward a few years and she would start to learn playing pipe organ with me. I've never had a better student - she could gladly do any task, assignment or experiment appointed to her. Yes, even while singing one part and playing on the organ the other 3 parts at the same time.

Now she studies organ playing at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theater and is clearly the star student there.

I wish her continued bravery in following her dreams every day.

Thanks for your post which ignited these nice memories in me. I hope as an educator you will have many many stories to share here on Steemit.

Thanks for sharing your story @organduo, it's fantastic for a post, hope to see it soon! I hope to keep writing stories too!

Hi leilanyarevalo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so very much!

Wow this is an amazing true life story, Miguel may not have the easy path in his life his high school journey or even hidls choice of a career, but one thing I noticed in your story is that you watched his steps, his diving Into music and how he chased his dreams relentlessly it shows that good teachers play important roles in the life of their students.
You may not have been rewarded buy just like you said seeing him suceesfull is a delightful thing to you already.
Amazing story here it was worth reading

Thanks for reading and for your words @josediccus. Yes, it is not about rewards, it is about the satisfaction of seeing your students succeed in whatever they want to do!

howdy from Texas leilanyarevalo! wow now this is such an inspirational story that should lift the spirits of everyone who hears it! What a blessing to be in a position like yours to see the success stories that you have and to be part of forming the lives of these kids! I salute you.

Do you have other success stories of former students that you will be posting about?

Thanks for your words @janton! yes, indeed. I have some stories about students, not so famous, but who showed bravery or generosity. That is the blessing of being a teacher, every student has something to give to the world.

howdy back again leilanyarevalo! well I don't know what grades you teach but we need more teachers like you! Did you say that you are in Venezuela?

Hi @janton I teach the equivalent to Senior High School. Those days I was coordinator, now I am the Principal. Yes, surviving Maduro's regime in Venezuela. Puerto La Cruz. Greetings!

howdy again leilanyarevalo..ok so we hear about the economy down there, is there enough food? what do you think is going to happen to solve the situation?

In my country, they say a teacher's reward is in heaven but I disagree. As a teacher, it always gladdens the heart when you see or hear your students succeed in their life endeavors. I remember the feeling of pride I had when all my students passed their university entrance exams with ease, no one failed and they are all doing well.
The role we have of shaping the lives of these young ones is a very important one that we should be proud of. Your boy looks handsome...if you don't mind my saying so.Lol.
I am proud of the teaching profession. You must feel so proud of your students.

Thanks @cheekah , I agree with you. I am proud of the teacher profession too!

Congratulations @leilanyarevalo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

A beautiful story Leilany!
My elder sister is also a teacher but teaching the Grade School.
Teachers are great people in society just like you of course.
I guess teachers are the kindest professionals in my own opinion, most of them. There are those that are strict but few only.

As I was reading your story I was thinking the star you're telling became your life partner. But it shows that I am not a soothsayer lol!
Sorry for that.
In the end, education really thus matter.

Thanks for your words, @ronel.

You're very much welcome Leilany.
Thanks for sharing your story.
Before I forget, teachers are very patient as well obviously.

Congratulations @leilanyarevalo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That is an inspirational one leilanyarevalo, teachers are the important building block of people life. Teacher are the archtiect who giving a beautiful touch to am mans life. They teach many thing and help people stand and face the world.
Every student are at par in every teachers eye..there should not be any difference however, There are few among the masses that posses some exceptional talent, quality, or something unique that put them apart from others. Finding such talent and make them shine and to present to the world a priceless gift. A sincere thanks and Namaste from India for a shining star.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your beautiful words @steemflow . Namaste.

We use to celebrate 5 sepetembe every year as Teachers day to respect all the teachers...a good fun day for children and teachers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15