The Farmer and the Dwarf (An Original Children's Story)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Image Source


Once upon a time, there was a poor farmer who had nothing but a wife, a tiny house, and a rich apple tree. He did everything he can to make his wife happy, worked night and day so he could afford their needs and his wife's wants. But the wife was greedy and had an endless list of desires, so the farmer's income was never enough.


"I have no more clothes to wear," the wife declared one day, "I want a purple velvet dress and a pair of purple shoes to match. Give it to me before sunset or you'll never see me again."


As soon as his wife left, the farmer cried.

"Oh heavens, help me,

I am but a poor man.

And if my wife shall leave me,

Then I'd be left with none."


A dwarf heard his cries and came to help at once. "My friend, I can help you, but nothing comes for free. In return I shall ask for a favor, a fruit from your apple tree."


The farmer thought about it, but then he finally agreed. The dwarf picked the ripest apple and left the man with a purple velvet dress and a pair of purple shoes, just as he had promised. He brought them to his wife and she tried them on happily. Satisfied, she bid her husband goodnight and slept with a smile on her face. The farmer was relieved.


The next morning, the wife shook the farmer awake, she was obviously in distress.


"Dear wife, what's the matter?," the farmer asked worriedly as he sat up.


"The dress you gave me yesterday, it doesn't fit in the closet. I need a bigger closet before noon or you'll never see me again," the wife said and left the room, the farmer could only scratch his head.


He had nothing to sell and he was full of debt, the farmer could only cry in despair. Then, he remembered his little friend, and went out to ask for help.

"Oh magical creature,

wherever you might be.

I'm relying on your power,

So my dear wife won't leave me."


At once, the dwarf appeared, and the farmer told him his problems. "Of course I can help you, but there has to be a payment. A box of your finest apples shall save you from this predicament."


The farmer thought hard about giving up his beloved apples. But soon, he agreed and the dwarf left him with a large wooden closet.


The wife was pleased when she saw the furniture, and told her husband to leave it outside for the time being. She slept well that night, and didn't notice how her husband grieved for his apples.


Morning came again and the farmer was awoken by a scream. He hurried outside to see what was going on, and soon found out that his wife was getting frustrated because the closet wouldn't fit anywhere inside their small house.


"I need a big house, NOW! Or you will never see me again!," the wife said and walked away from her husband.


The farmer had had enough, and called out to the dwarf again. This time, the dwarf appeared much sooner than he had expected.


"I've heard everything she'd said, and I'm willing to give you a big house. But you know that I'll need something in return," the dwarf said.


"I know, my friend. But I have another offer." The farmer whispered his plan to the dwarf, and both men started laughing so hard.


The plan was done successfully, and the farmer invited the dwarf to live with him in his big house. The dwarf declined, but promised to visit the farmer everyday. The farmer stood in front of his new home, glancing at his most beloved apple tree. As for the wife, well, I'll spare you the details, but surely, she wasn't so pleased. The farmer smiled to himself as he realized that he never had a wiser decision.





Sort:  

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34