10 Tips On How To Get Teacher Fit

After running my own business for the past year, which I have now sold, I have recently taken on a new teaching position. I started my new job educating grade 4 learners just a few weeks ago and I have to admit, getting back into the “game” has been a little tougher than I remember. One of my co-workers mentioned that I need to get “teacher fit” after telling her how I was battling to get used to the new schedules, timelines and of course, students. While she was joking, her statement holds a lot of worth. I thought I would walk in and all my teaching experience would come rushing back to me and that I would breeze through my firsts days on the job. But I was very wrong, I had forgotten how demanding teaching can be, and exhausting!

I took some time to really reflect back on what it was like to be a first-time teacher and how I handled my very first few weeks as an official educator. I came up with 10 pieces of advice that I gave to myself, and now, I would like to share them with you. Perhaps you are studying to complete your BA, or have just started your job as a teacher, maybe you are like me and are re-entering the world of schooling – whatever your current position, I hope these following points will be of some benefit to you too:

Photo Credit

10 Things To Remind Yourself As A Teacher


1. You’re not perfect. There is no such thing as perfection in the world of teaching. Instead, strive to do your best and aim for perfection.

2. Be confident, even when you are not. Kids know how to tell when we have lost control and they will use this to their advantage. Even if you don’t know what you want your students to do, wing it and make it up as you go along, it’s OK for you to change your mind, and your students must accept this. 

3. Get you know your co-workers as soon as you can. Find out who you can and can’t trust, who you can rely on for help and who can potentially make your life harder. To play the filed you need to know the field.

4. Is what you are doing impactful for the kids? We often run around trying to prove ourselves and look good, but this is where you truly exhaust yourselves. As a teacher, your job is your students, so f what you are doing does not benefit them in some way, you might want to reorganise your schedule. 

5. Use the internet. Stop trying to invent your own ideas all the time, while originality is fun and appreciative, you are allowed to search for insight and even inspiration.

6. Do not reinvent the wheel. Not during the first few weeks of your new job anyway! Adapt to what is already put in place and utilize the resources.

7. Listen to the parents. I think we can all agree that one of the toughest jobs of teaching are working with the parents. Make peace with apologizing when you are wrong (and sometimes when you are not) but stand your ground when you know you are right. Start growing that thick skin now!

8. Learn to embrace criticism and grow from it. Don’t let criticism get you down! 

9. Look for a mentor, or someone who is willing to give you support. This doesn’t have to be a teacher at the same school you work at. Look for someone who is also a teacher, get together often over a cup of coffee and share your complaints, worries and excitements too!

10. Breathe. Breathe and remember to enjoy your work. You are in this field because you are passionate about education and kids. So, breathe, let loose, and enjoy your new journey!

As teachers, we are expected to please our students, their parents, our co-workers and the big boss. But, this is quite impossible. So go back to basics and remember why you are here to teach, you are here to help your students learn, grow and prosper. They are your number one goal, their satisfaction and their achievements are what make your day a good one. 

Wish me luck as I embark on a new teaching journey!

@mamameimei

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14