Five Things To Include In A Lesson Plan

Photo Credit

After being out of the teaching “game” for just over a year, I have recently started at a position at a new school. While it was slightly harder to fall back into the swing of things than I envisioned, I am slowly but surely finding my feet again. One of the things I had almost forgotten about was the importance of a good lesson plan, and how a teacher can never be over prepared.

Every teacher has their own way of prepping a lesson and putting together a learning schedule. Over the few years that I have been teaching I have taken bits and pieces from what my co-workers have done and adapted their methods slightly to create a template that I would like to think is uniquely my own but is probably quite similar to others too. Here are my:

Five Things To Include In A Lesson Plan


ONE

Link to prior lessons or learning. This part should be included into the introduction of your new lesson and connects to knowledge learned in a previous session (or elaborates there on). For instance, last week we learnt about recycling, today we will learn why recycling is beneficial to the environment and its ecosystems. 

TWO

Engagement and the transferring of knowledge. In this step you need to highlight the learning objective and give the students an idea of what to expect, or what to learn. The lesson objective is discussed according to the topic. 

THREE

Active learning: In this part of the lesson, students are actively engaged in an activity the teacher has planned. This can be done through role playing, visual aids, discussions and debates or by doing experiments and demonstrations. 

FOUR

Reflecting. This is where you find out if the students have reached the learning objective or not. You can set tests, essay challenges or simply ask questions as a discussion to see if your students have in fact absorbed the lesson.

FIVE 

Applying the knowledge. I like to encourage my students to take the new knowledge they have gained and put it to use, or in their own words, from their own perspectives. So, every now and then I encourage them to take what they have learnt home with them by applying it in projects, preparing their own orals about it or simply asking them to do some extra research on the subject which they can discuss with the class at a later date.

If you already use a lesson plan format, these five elements may already be included, or perhaps you have similar points to follow. While some teachers manage just fine without writing and prepping a learning strategy, I’m old-school in that being over prepared is what makes me feel confident enough to give a lesson, and since our students feed off our moods and emotions, confidence is key!

Have a good week at school every one, @mamameimei


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76