TAKING MY WINNING TEAM TROUT FISHING.

in #steemiteducation5 years ago (edited)

image source

One year,, after my rugby team did very well I asked them if there is something they would like to do and we can all do it together.

They looked at one another as if they had already talked about it as we always did something nice at the end of the season when they do well.

image source

image source

The captain of the team said we would love to go and catch trout for a weekend on one of the trout farms.

I sat there stunned, this had never crossed my mind, as they usually want to go ice skating or go to a movie.

Well if we can clear this with your parents, I cannot see why not.  If they all agree I will start organizing this trip for us.

How they did it I do not know but they all brought letters to school the next day, giving them permission to go, and believe it or not most of the fathers wanted to join us.

I started phoning and found a farm in Dullstroom Mpumalanga which was not too far from where we lived.

image source

They had accommodation and with all the fathers wanting to go we did not have to use a bus.

We all left on the Friday afternoon and booked in, we had a wonderful braai and everyone had their own idea how to catch trout.

image source

It really became fun, not just for the children but for us as grownups as well.

I was actually pleased as the only fish that I knew how to catch was trout; I loved it as you do not have to sit still and wait for ages for something to happen.

My wife loves fishing but she can sit for hours watching her rod waiting for something to happen.

I usually make food in that time because that is what I love making a fire and braaing meat.  

The next morning we started, and said tonight we will braai trout.  The owner of the farm organised some nice salads for us and hot buns.

The children were having a wonderful time competing who could catch the biggest fish.

image source

That night we ate trout like you will not believe. 

There is very few fish that is so nice when put on the fire freshly caught.

image source

 The tables were bending with food and I am sure they all had more than enough to eat.

 

image source

By that time all were tired and they hit the showers for bed.

image source

The next morning a preacher came and held a service for us at the farm which was also new to the boys as they had never held church outside in nature and this was very clear that they realized what it was about as preached about nature and the parable of the bread and fish that left 12 baskets when only starting with a few bread and fish.

This turned out to be the most fantastic weekend and all the children enjoyed it with us.

They still had time to catch a few fish for their mothers and later we packed up and went home.

Sometimes we do not realize how good it is to take children out into nature and let them get away from television and all the things that kept them in the house.

Hope you enjoyed my true story and may you have a wonderful day here from the Wild Coast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73