DO NOT BE AN OBEDIENT PARENT

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

As most men do I was just sitting on one of the benches in the middle of the mall, and my wife brought stuff to me to watch.

image source

When you are old, it works better for us as she does not have to carry them around and can go where she wants, without feeling in a hurry as I am inclined to not want to wander around like she does.

We have been doing this for a few years.  I keep the trolley and she fills it and then gets the other stuff she needs.

image source

I like it as I sit and watch people with children whom I love go by and see what everyone is doing.

Sitting there opened my eyes to so very obedient parents.

What is an obedient parent?  

There are so many children I see of all races who have these tantrums, because they want something.  

The one parent says no and the child goes into such a rage that you cannot believe it.

image source

It is not just one or two there are so many children who get their way because of a tantrum and that is frightening to me.

When the child starts his tantrum the other parent runs, and gets whatever the child want.  I call these obedient parents.  It seems to have become the norm as we are not allowed to hit a child anymore.

One of these children was on their second tantrum, and I asked the parent if I may say something to her. 

Please the parent said I do not know what to do anymore.

I whispered in the child's ear,  if you don’t stop this nonsense I am going to hit your backside so hard you will not be able to sit for days.

she looked at me with big eyes, and climbed  on the seat next to her father.

What did you say to her, we have never been able to get her to listen?  

I was a principal for 25 years; maybe I just know how to work with children I said.

He asked the child but she did not say a word and just sat still waiting for the other parent.

They all left happy as the child was obedient, and the parents could do what they needed to without him having a tantrum.

I do know that we are not allowed to hit children anymore but nothing prevent us from telling them that we are going to do it.

image source

My kids knew the 1,2,3 rule. If I started counting they immediately reacted and were doing what they were supposed to.

I do not like hitting children, and very seldom hit my own, but I was the one in charge and not the obedient parent, but the parent who had to be listened to.

So obedient parents if you think you can quiet them down at 4 of 5 by giving them their will, think twice as I do not know what you are going to do when they get older.

Children need discipline as well as love, but they must also know who is in charge and listen to their parents. There is nothing worse than a child who throws a tantrum.

So be good parents and help your children to become good children, as it is very necessary for us to have normal human beings in the future.

What are these children going to do with their children one day as we all know that the only way to really teach a child is by being an example to them?

Children need discipline as well as love, but they must also know who is in charge and listen to their parents. There is nothing worse than a child who throws a tantrum.

So be good parents, and help your children to become good children, as it is very necessary for us to have normal human beings in the future.

What are these children going to do with their children one day as we all know that the only way to really teach a child is by being an example to them?

May all parents start thinking about this and have wonderful children, it is not that difficult and we need a decent society to live in.

Hope you have a wonderful day from the Wild Coast.
 

Sort:  

We can not change anyone's thinking. But we are never too old. Always think good. Parents have everything for us. They bring us into this world.

Love and firm control the way we were brought up, I agree too many obedient parents around of late.

We did get the odd hidings as children, I cannot remember ever getting one that I did not deserve.

Now days parents take the children shopping with them; growing up we each had the task of walking about a mile to fetch bread and milk, eggs, veggies, OK times have changed!

Parents are too scared to let children out of their sight, perhaps the answer would be to allow the children to collect item of the shelf, teach them how much each item costs, teach them to read kilogram pricing on cheese and meat make it more educational and fun assisting, much better than tantrums of "I want".

Huge problem these days - and parents believing everything their little 'angels' tell them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82