DO WE HAVE THE RIGHT IDEA ABOUT THE CHAMELEON COLOR.

 

image source

When seeing this new discovery today on chameleons, it reminded me of a day at school when I asked all the children to bring the chameleons they had as pets to school. 

We were doing the chameleon in a class and I just thought it would be very nice for children who had not seen them before seeing them in real life. 

To me it was such a surprise as more than 25 of the children had them as pets. I did not think there would be so many and was so surprised that I could send these children to different classes to show the whole school what they looked like. 

Then I found that on one of the websites they were talking about these bones of chameleons that were glowing under UV light and showed.

I am putting a video in here to show how chameleons change color because children like having   them as pets because of this reason.

We know now that we were wrong, they have crystals under their skin and they have the ability to move them further apart or  ;make them more condensed according to their will. This is a very different way from what we had thought before.   ;;This video explains it very nice.

This video explain that we have the wrong idea about them as they do not change color to hide themselves they use it as calling cards for mates and they have a wonderful ability to look angry to other male chameleons.

courtesy of you tube 

I always thought that chameleons are green but for the wonder of nature is that the blue light coming through onto the yellow cells make him green. And all children know that if you mix blue and  yellow you get green.This other video show how that there was found that they have fluorescent bones and we did not know it before. Here is another wonderful video explaining how this is shown. 

courtesy of you tube

  These chameleons have fluorescent bone just under their epidermis, and that is kept under UV light to shows up.I must say that steemit has changed my old age, and it is making me think for myself again as I did when I was younger.  Every day I learn something new, and realize that you are never to old to learn. So don't ever think you know everything, as it is impossible. Nature that was given to us, teach us that every day and it is incredible for me to realize that I have always had the wrong impression on how chameleons change color.

May you enjoy your day and have a good one here from the Wild Coast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83