Why I still love to TEACH!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

A while ago while I was crafting the syllabus that I will be using for my playgroup class, I became excited for the official start of our class!

We will officially start the school year 2018-2019 on June 13, 2018, that’s approximately 8 days from now. Since I have been very busy blogging here on steemit lately for the past two months because of school vacation or summer, I will honestly admit that my excitement about this school year fades away. Today on the 5th day of June, I realized that I missed teaching so much.

86631F50-E5B3-41F9-80EA-4F1A235CAD6B.jpeg

I was handling 8 subjects during the last school year, in the morning I taught 2nd and 6th graders while in the afternoon, I taught playgroup pupils. The job is not actually easy since I do have a lot of preparations to do plus the fact that I need to change my approaches to kids from hour to hour. Though my first year of teaching is a bit struggle, I still got a chance to collect and ponder some thoughts that makes me still love teaching.

CD3FB9CF-FB4E-4BF3-84D9-0590D93D0630.jpeg

1.) Kids emotions are genuine


I have observed and loved the genuinity of my pupils and I miss the days when they cry because of small things, when they laugh because of our games, when they hugged me altogether with a little giggle, when they seek for my attention, and when they approached me and say, ”I love you teacher”.

No one tells them to do all of those especially in doing hugs and uttering words like "I love you". They didn’t ask me for something in return after doing those things. It is genuine, I must say, since those were all a product of their own emotions and love!

8EA02409-4ACF-4D48-A638-6845B80343D4.jpeg

2.) Kids smiles and laughters are my stress relievers


In my 6th graders class, I always make sure to crack accepted jokes in the middle of the discussion to have some humor and to break down boredom. Everytime I crack jokes, I can really hear a variety of unending laugh, and I miss hearing those! I can still remember how I nervous I was when I started talking in front of their class during our first meeting. My heart was beating really really fast that I can hear it inside my ears. I don’t know, but maybe it was just a product of my own excitement since it was my first time in holding a real class. Right now, I got plenty of HIs and HELLOs in my other social media accounts from them and honestly at first I was thinking that they have concerns about their grades. Luckily, I got a chance to talk to one of my students before who have messaged me as to what’s the purpose of their ”WAVES” and she told me that she just missed me so much. That was so touching!

I always scan all my photos here in my phone during my vacant time and everytime I got a chance to see photos of my playgroup pupils, I always caught myself smiling and recalling those days. I really miss their smiles! I really miss being with them! In fact, I always dream about them lately.

FA659B96-7259-4D7C-881F-5F5E96A5D106.jpeg

3.) Preparing my instructional materials excites my nerves!


I always feel excited when I make my instructional materials. My colleagues are the living evidence about that one. I alwasy love to see the reactions of my kids everytime they will or can experience new things and you know what, I can’t peacefully sleep the night before the day if I am too excited for my next lesson.

33CE90DE-1AEE-49FB-ABB2-9A750347764D.jpeg

4.) The teaching-learning process is also designed for the teachers


For me, teaching is not only done by teachers alone and learning is not only done by students alone. It is a two way process which both parties can really benefit with.

I am always thankful if I can see improvements on my pupils every after the facilitating learning and I feel blessed the more when I can learn from them. Students may be too young but youngness should never be the reason for the lack of knowledge and wisdom. A simple AHA moments to students is already a relief to the teacher and a great AHA of the teacher is always kept in our hearts.

0E73F8AD-7974-4750-B5BA-B6876B89862C.png

If I am going to sum up all of those in a sentence, I must say that ”I will always love teaching because I am teaching students and not subjects”.

Right now, I am so much excited to see the new sets of my students who will inspire and motivate me to keep going!

How about your own experience as a teacher? Why are you excited to teach even though we can really come across with many struggles? Please feel free to share it with me on the comment box below!

69846229-2F89-446F-98AA-0339F26699C1.png

1FD48B3E-2159-4220-AC4B-4E73F1E823ED.gif

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as the @steemiteducation Post of the Day:)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the #steemiteducation tag in the post itself.

Woah! Thank you so much @brocofan99!!

Your photos are so cool! Even though teaching is really hard, I love it too!

Thank you @teachblogger! That’s also good to hear that you also love teaching. We all have the common denominator in teaching and that is passion, I guess. Thanks for dropping by.

Your dedication to help them is really starting them right before passing them to the next level of teachers. With your love for teaching, you can also ignite the love of learning in pupils with your passion.

That’s true, it was actually challenging for me since I will help them in their knowledge and values foundation. Right now, I have been praying to God that I have successfully helped them. Honestly, I am also excited to see them grow and become a teenager so I can assess if I have made a great impact to them. Thanks for dropping by friend!!!

Love that you are student-focused and not focused on the actual subjects! Always good to know that there are teachers who WANT their students to learn. Awesome post!

Thank you for that kind words @sweetpea. Thanks for stopping by.

Your job is no longer a job, but it has become a passion, @morken! Love to see the joyful faces in your photos, you must be a really adored teacher! :) Happy starting school again!

Thank you for your kind words @happycrazycon. Thanks for stopping by. Lovelots!

Wow! I tip my hat to you teaching such young people. I'm quite happy with the teenagers in high school, thanks!! I hope your new school year is as full and rewarding as your previous one was.

Keep up the god work @morken.

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words @steveblucher.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86