Growth is necessary for progress.


Growth is difficult and perceived undesired at time but it’s all too necessary. I've grown quite a bit in the last few short months of this year and it shows in my approach to to my work. It's a pity I can't make others grow with me.

If people are persistent in doing things how they used to in the past whilst seeing that they no longer have an effect is sad to witness. Growth is necessary to help us adapt to new situations and find solutions we're currently facing. I had to stop doing thing the old way and find a different approach towards solving my issues. This has led to growth in my psyche and in my perspective on my current situation.
source

Discipline is an issue that teachers across the world are struggling with. The departments of education aren't helping much either but instead are making the situation worse by giving learners more power over teachers. I've written a few posts about this topic and I've finally found my solution this problem. Please bear in mind that it is a working process.

I've tried punishing my learners by detaining them after school in detention, doesn't work. I tried punishing them by making them clean the class by themselves without the help of others, didn’t work. I tried writing their names in my incident book and explained to them to the repercussions thereof, didn’t work. I've asked for the assistance of the older teachers who whooped my learners to compliance; it didn’t work long and I just don’t have and don’t want the stomach for that so that didn’t work.
source
So what actually works? Nothing. So far nothing works for me but I've made and still are making significant progress in modifying their ill-mannered behaviour without using punishment. What I am doing now shifting the responsibility to them. They are responsible for learning as much as I am responsible for teaching them. If they don’t want to learn then I can't teach them. I make this point very clear every single day and I seem to be getting through to them little by little.

It is still too early to make a definite conclusion on my new method. So far it is showing a great amount of promise. I will be consistent and untiring until I reach them all. I am building a relationship with them of trust and mutual respect. Sometimes force and physical strength aren’t the only way to enforce discipline. A gentle approach could get the job done as well. source


Sort:  

I'm glad your making progress. Kids respond to people they like. The fact that you have been honest and respectful will go a long way.

Today was a rough day. I didn't get through to them as I hoped. But it's still early days. Using honey instead of vinegar.

How to change a thought overnight, it is simply perseverance and patience, the methods used will never be enough, but we must be persistent and insistent. Discipline is something that requires a lot of attention, and that's how you say:

"If they do not want to learn, then I can not teach them."

However, we must do what is necessary, the educators have the answers and we must have the solution to the problems.

Hmmm. I hear you. At times we as adults seem to partake in activities that are self destructive and refuse to listen to reason. But there's always that one person who never gives up on us and ends up getting through to us. I'll be that individual for my learners.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

That is terrible. Some people are just evil.

Is this a spam on my post though?

I agree, each of us must grow and find new rooms for improvements.

Very true. Life is change and change can be growth. We just have to choose.

Glad to see that you are tackling this problem using new methods, and that they seem to be starting to work. I don't know the rules in your part of the world, but in the UK if any teacher gives out any form of physical punishment, they can get themselves into a lot of trouble.

That's pretty much the rule here in SA as well. Learners seem to have gotten worse behaviour wise since this rule has been implemented though, do you disagree?

No. They don't seem to be influenced by anything else other than physical punishment, as your article details.

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Thank you oh so much for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84