10 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: Three-Needle Bind-Off

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

If you have been following my series on Learning To Knit with @sweetpea, by now you should have your needles and yarn all prepped and at the very least you should be able to cast on and knit in garter and stocking stitch. If you are new to my series, I’ll add my previous tutorials below for your reference. 

In today’s addition we are going to learn ow to do a Three Needle Bind Off (cast off). A 3-Needle Bind-Off - it is a wonderful way to work a secure, yet not-bulky seam or finish and creates a stable seam that it is not as bulky or prone to issues as a sewn edge.

In my examples below, I am bust finishing off a baby bootie/sock that I am knitting for a friend. I’ll be sharing this pattern and technique with you soon, so stay tuned!

How To Do A 3 Needle Bind-Off


Step 1: 

At this point you will either have two separate pieces of knit work or one piece that is halved (like with the baby sock in this image). What’s important is the you want to make sure the right sides are facing each other as they are held together and that there is an even amount of stitches on each needle.

Images by @sweetpea

Step 2: 

As the concept suggests, you will needle three needles to perform this step.  Your third needle will be held in your right hand and you will insert it into both of the stitched on each left-hand needle, moving through the back loop of each stitch and performing a regular knit technique. 

Step 3: While you are knotting through two stitches, you still end up with only one stitch on your left needle after following step 1 and 2. 

Step 4: Repeat steps 1-3, but this time you will work the first stitch on your right needle over the 2nd stitch, in a regular casting-off technique.

To be honest with you, this was the first time I was prompted to use this binding off method and I love it! It’s fun to do and it gives your work a neat and almost seamless finish.  

Previous additions to the Learning To Knit With @sweetpea Series:


01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch

03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches

04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch)

05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch)

06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1)

08 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw)

09 - Learn To Knit With Sweetpea: The Yarn Over/Forward Stitch (Used For Button Holes And Lace Patterns) 

PATTERNS by @sweetpea:

 Thank you once again for taking the time to Learn To Knit With me! There will be plenty more tutorials and patterns to follow, so please stay tuned and pop in often for more updates! Happy knitting! 


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189


Sort:  

Interesting and Helpful Post

Handwork pays.it is always very interesting learning a skill.thanks .@sweetpea you have a neat job there.more grease to your elbow

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

I love how you knit, you are all an artist, greetings to your family, may God bless you always.

I have knit little, but with the practices you give in your publications, it helps me improve my technique. I'll have to try again. :)

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @jeffbernst, @bitrocker2020, @jrswab & @teachblogger . We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

Your tutorial is very clear and specific. I've learned to knit when I was lot younger and even made a scarf for my mum. But after that I kind of lost patience. Your post definitely motivated to pick up my knitting equipment once over again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09