Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: The MOSS STITCH

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

While life has been pretty busy of late, I've still managed to do some knitting here and there. I am not working on any big projects at the moment, instead I have been trying out new stitches on blocks that I plan on sewing together to make a large blanket. Some of they stitches have been quite tricky to work, while other's, like the stitch I am going to share with you today, have been basic and quite enjoyable to knit. 

If you are new to my series: Learning To Knit With @sweetpea, allow me to introduce myself. I am @sweetpea, I love trying out new things and have had many hobbies. One of my favorite pass times is to knit, and with this I bring to you a series of tutorials where you too can learn how to knit, follow patterns and create beautiful artwork. For instance, today I would like to show you how to knit the MOSS STITCH.

All images by @sweetpea

THE MOSS STITCH


The Moss Stitch is a nice strong stitch that forms a sturdy, thick and beautifully patterned end result. It's easy for beginners to do and is a lovely stitch for almost any project. 

To knit a Moss Stitch you simply need to know how to knit and purl. The pattern is as follows:

  1. Cast on an even number of stitches.
  2. R0w one: * Knit one stitch, purl one stitch. Repeat from *until the end.
  3. Row two: * Purl one stitch, knit one stitch. Repeat from *until the end.
  4.  Keep repeating these 2 rows form the pattern. 

The end result is this dense and moss-like creation.

I will be practicing and sharing many new stitches with you over the next few weeks, and like I mentioned above, I will be sewing all the blocks I create to make a blanket, which I plan on donating to charity. This moss stitch is ideal for blanket squares actual, because of its thickness and the fact that it does not curl at the ends, so it is easy to join to other blocks.

Thank you for taking the time to knit with me! If you are just here for a read, thanks for stopping by, perhaps I have given you some encouragement to start a knitting project of your own in the future! If you are new to the series of Learning To Knit With @sweetpea, you can find more of my tutorials and patterns listed below: 

 01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes 

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch

03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches

04 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Knit Stitch (Garter Stitch)

05 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: The Purl Stitch (Stocking Stitch)

06 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Decreasing Stitches (SSK)

07 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches (Inc 1)

08 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Increasing Stitches Purlwise (M1 Pw)

09 - Learn To Knit With Sweetpea: The Yarn Over/Forward Stitch (Used For Button Holes And Lace Patterns)

10 - Learn How To Knit With @sweetpea: Three-Needle Bind-Off

11 - Learn To Knit With @sweetpea: Circular Knitting  

PATTERNS by @sweetpea:

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

We had to learn it in the first yeears of school. Then I did it, now I had forgotten.
Thank you for the refreshment.

These stitches looks difficult, but you made it effortlessly pretty!

I never took a great interest in knitting. And I do not understand where to take so much patience to sit and knit))) Apparently, this is also a talent!

I love the moss stitch and use it pretty often, whenever I am concentrated enough hihi, I usually screw up and make a wrong stitch, no talking or watching tv with this one :)

That is a lovely stitch. I used to knit, it was the first thing I learned and then crochet. My problem with knitting was that I always forgot the number of stitches as I would drift away into different thoughts as I knitted. Then I would notice mistakes and would have to go back a few rows to fix it, sometimes leaving it like that as it would be too many rows back. I wrote down the counts as well but then it got to me at how long it would take to create something. The last thing I knitted was a red and white scarf I made for my mother with a cross detail as she has this thing for Jesus lol. Yet she never wore it. Oh well. Crochet works up much faster for me and works well in my busy life with a trio of kids.

I can see how this type of stitching would be great for making a winter sweater.

Your stitches looked really neat & beautiful! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85