Do you know the difference between this/these/those/that?


Image Source

Do you know the difference between: This/That/These/Those

Since being away for the last two weeks and getting an expansion of our educational business from the ground, I finally have some time to get a post in. And how did I miss this. I missed channeling my thoughts into a post. So here we go...

Today we will be focusing on the difference between this, that, these, those.

Image Source

All three of these words are demonstrative pronouns. This means that they point to a specific thing or people. They can be used in the place of a noun.

Let's take a look at this.

This is used when you refer to someone or something that is close to the speaker. This is also used in the singular form.
Eg. This is my hat. This is my shoes.

Let's take a look at these.

These is the plural form of this. It refers to more than one thing that is close to the speaker.
Eg. These are our sweets. These are our seats.

Let's take a look at that.

That is a singular form. It indicates something that is not close to the speaker, but over there.
Eg. That is my book lying on the bookcase.

Let's take a look at those.

Those is a plural form. It indicates more than one thing that is not close to the speaker, but over there.
Eg. Those pencils are yours.

Video to assist you to understand the difference between this, that, these, those.


Video Source

Resources

  1. Source 1
  2. Source 2
  3. Source 3


Created by Giphy

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

English is not an easy language to learn. This and that is still quite basic but all that funny unpredictable pronounciation ...
If you love words Tanya, please look at my last post:
https://steemit.com/languages/@johano/reisendenlenker-in-advanced-german

Yes, I do, and I often remind a lot of my younger friends about it.

Ha awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80