Science Focus: Testing a Hypothesis (What is a hypothesis?)

Finally...

I have time to spend with my kids. These last couple of days my son especially has some interesting theories and today he came and ask:

"Let's test a hypothesis mom..."


Image Source

Let's test my hypothesis mom.

Well, needless to say, I almost fell on my back when my 5 year old used this terminology

While probing him for more information I realized we have to allow our kids to explore and learn. Provide them with as much as learning opportunities as possible.

What is a hypothesis?

A hypothesis is a proposition or a set of propositions that is used as an explanation for the occurrence of a group of phenomena. It easier words, it is an assumption of an occurrence that is then tested to prove your hypothesis.

My son's hypothesis:

My son and husband makes a lot of baking soda volcanoes, so his hypothesis:


Image Source

If we add baking soda, food coloring and vinegar together we will get some bubbles.

Video: What is a hypothesis?

You all know by know that I love searching for videos about my topics.
Here is a video about what a hypothesis is:


Video Source

So off I went in search for an experiment where we can proof his hypothesis.

Science Experiment: Sparkly explosion


Image Source

You will need the following

  1. A Vase
  2. Baking soda
  3. Vinegar
  4. Food coloring (My son wanted to use red food coloring, but we also used blue coloring.)
  5. Glitter
  6. Use a pan to contain the mess when the baking soda and vinegar reacts.

Instructions.

  1. Put the vase in the pan.
    We use a ratio of 3:1/2. 3 teaspoons of baking soda to 1/2 cup of vinegar.
  2. First throw in the 3 teaspoons of baking soda in the bottom of the vase.
  3. Add the 6-7 drops of food coloring and 2 teaspoons of glitter.
  4. While keeping your eyes wide open pour in the 1/2 a cup of vinegar.
  5. The reaction will be quick so watch out for the sparkles.

Since we are testing a hypothesis we changed some variables like replacing the glitter with pepper or salt or even adding dish soap.

We tested everything to the amusement of my son to come back to the conclusion that baking soda, vinegar and glitter works the best.

Image Source

Sources

  1. Source 1
  2. Source 2
  3. Source 3


Created by Giphy

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


GIF

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Another fabulous task for children. At 5 years old your little guy is starting to sound like an Einstein! Blessings!

He can sometimes work on ones nerves with all his questions, especially when you don't know the answer. Luckily for a dad that loves science and always has the answers, well and google.

But rather this than a kid that doesn't want to learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70