Calm down, my dear teacher!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

stressed-out-woman-jpeg.jpeg

1


Stay calm!

Being an English teacher is never easy. I have been teaching for about 4 years and working in a private institution at the moment. There are lots of students in different ages with different education backgrounds. It is really hard to teach them all in groups classes. However, there are some things I should always be aware in classroom. Today, I would like to talk about them which can be also helpful for all teachers.

Your students may not understand what you are trying to teach. You might even be asked with same questions many times, again and again. It happens to me a lot and I feel like I am going crazy with all those students. However, it is my job to be calm and try to teach those students until they learn it completely. If I don't stay calm and show that I am angry, all students will grow up hatred towards me. First thing is being calm and patience!


poster-i-was-wrong.png

2


Admit your fault!

Even though you are the best teacher ever, don't forget that you are also a human like your students. Therefore, it is fine to make some mistakes while teaching them something new. When you make your mistakes, don't try to just get over them without explaining what is wrong. If you ever do it and your students realize your mistakes, they might lose their trust in you which is the worst thing that may happen in class.

It has happened to me a few time before. As an English teacher, it is important to teach the pronunciation of words correctly. When you teach them how words are pronounced, they immediately copy and use them in their sentences. Once I realized that I made a mistake in one of the words I taught them. After thinking about my mistakes, I explained them my mistake and they appreciated for my act as I proved that I pay attention to every single thing in classroom.


120105_DS_goodTeacher.jpg.CROP.rectangle3-large.jpg

3


Be active!

No one wants to see a teacher who is sitting down all the time and feeling reluctant to teach something. I understand that you might have problems which should be kept outside classroom. Just forget them during the lesson and focus on the success of your students. Being passive in teaching and showing this through your actions will ruin your lessons without any doubt.

It is also linked to activities you plan for your lessons. Giving lots of worksheets to your students and waiting for them to do it in 40 minutes is not a good way of teaching them. Instead of letting them drown in worksheets, just let them be more active with exercises that they can work in pair and groups works. This is the way of having more efficient and interesting lessons. This is a must thing to do.


34313-shy-child-full.jpg

4


Hey, it is all okay!

Respect your students, they are learning a new language which they may have never heard before coming to class with you. As they are trying to be active in class engaging in exercises planned by you, they might make some big mistakes which can lead all students to laugh without thinking at all in classroom. In this point, a teacher must choose its side.

Instead of joining others and making fun of that student because of mistakes, a teacher should find some creative ways to explain that the mistake student made was all fine. Our main mission is to encourage students to get involved in activities more and feel more confident in class. If a teacher ever makes fun of students , those student will never trust that teacher again and may even stop learning that language just because of that teacher.


unknown.png


Education

This post is all based on my experiences since I am all the time busy with my students in our language school. I try to stick these important things in my teaching career as much as possible. If you have anything to add, you are welcome to share your tips with me and others. You may even write a post under the tag of @steemiteducation.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Everyone is welcome to have a look at @steemiteducation page and educate all people! Thanks for reading.


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Admitting mistakes is something very important for teachers.

People should always be honest, especially when teaching new things to other people so they can learn it properly.

But it also takes a little but of humbleness from the teacher to publicly accept his mistake.

Great post @teachblogger. I admit my mistakes on an almost daily basis. In fact, I really believe that authenticity in teaching is what enables you to develop those relationships that make a difference in the life of a student.

I often make a mistake when teaching Maths, and my students take great pride in showing the teacher where he went wrong. I could get upset and annoyed, or just take it for what it is... an error and move on letting the student know that they have picked up on my error really well.

It costs me nothing, but rewards them beyond understanding.

Thanks for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79