Teaching Grammar Through Activities / Grammar Revision!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

REVISION3.jpg

1


Let's revise!

When I start a new class with students who have already completed beginner level in English, I prefer to start with some activities which can help them activate their prior knowledge. Writing rules on the board to remind them what they have might forgotten is not a good way of teaching. Instead of doing that, I always go with an activity such as reading, listening or speaking so that students can see how they are used.

All teachers must keep in mind that language is not the combination of rules. If you want your students to learn it efficiently and use it as much as they want, you have to show them the uses of learning that language. We usually have course books which can help us to shape our lessons. Today, I would like to share an example of lesson that I have prepared by myself. Let's start our grammar revision with a text written by me!


800px_COLOURBOX4159028.jpg

2


Let's read!

The reading you are going to read has been written by me. You are welcome to use in your lesson if you wish. Dear students, let's read the text and answer the following questions.

An Amazing Life!

Robert is one of the best figures in the world. He has got lots of success stories which have inspired lots of people all over the world. Although he is married and continues a stable life with his family at the moment. He has done lots of great this in in his life. Robert is a travel blogger. He has been to lots of cities and written amazing articles.

He was born in Paris in 1975. He studied in Paris high school for 4 years. When he finished his studies in high school, he decided to change his city thanks to his family's help. As his family were quite rich, they gave him the chance to study abroad. He joined in a university in England as an exchange student. As soon as he started studying in the university, he realized that he should travel and share his experiences.

He is working as project manager in Paris now. He has got 2 children and a beautiful wife. He goes to the gym twice a week to keep himself fit. He usually goes on some short trips with his family to remember those amazing traveling days he has spent through his life.

He has got some plans for the next year. He is going to travel in Europe with his family next year. He is going to stay in 5 countries for 5 months and explore new places with his wife and kids. He is looking forward to that new experience. He still has a lot of things which are waiting for him and family on the way.


Asking-Questions.jpg

3


Let's answer the questions!

When your students are done with reading, it is time to check if they are able to understand the text very well. When they are reading the text, they usually notice that all main tenses in English are used in the text above, so it reminds them how they are used in daily language.

1.) Where was Robert born?
2.) Where did he study as an exchange student?
3.) What is he doing at the moment?
4.) How many children has he got?
5.) How often does he go to the gym?
6.) What is he going to do next year?

After your students answer these questions, you may also ask them to give you an example in " past simple ", " present simple " or " be going to " etc. When they are asked to give examples, they will easily remember those tenses which is the main aim of grammar revision.


1*Y1zZK3fLQN54kseJEnowUw.jpeg

4


Practice makes it perfect!

As students read the text which includes all main tenses in English and answer the questions aimed at those tenses, we can say that we are almost done with reminding them some main grammar tenses in English. As I said, we are almost done with the process. Practice makes it perfect, so that it is a must to organize an activity which allows students to work on their own and in pairs.

There are some options that I can recommend all teachers. One of the best ways of practicing what they learn in this lesson is to write a text about their past, present and future plans. By doing this, they can use all tenses to express themselves. If you feel that they should work in pairs, you may ask them to write a dialogue aimed at these tenses. Writing a dialogue is the best way to make them practice questions forms in a language.

When they do one of these exercises, they will certainly get better at learning what you are aiming to teach. All lessons should be supported with practice in classroom and also students should be provided with some tasks or work sheets so that they can revise what they learn at home.


logo12.png


Education

Being creative in your lessons is always important. When I need to prepare my own hand-out, I do my best to make activities as interesting as possible. It is very important for me to see my students having fun while learning English. I have to admit that it also helps me to improve my creativity.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Everyone is welcome to have a look at @steemiteducation page and educate all people! Thanks for reading.


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Congratulations for bringing us great teachings friend, God bless you always. Thank you for being present every day in our learning. We love you. @techablogger

I am glad that it is helpful for you!

This is a refreshing post. I am also guilty of spoon feeding my learners instead of teaching them. I get so frustrated when I asked questions based on content we've covered which they fail to answer. I end up answering myself and that is not beneficial for anyone. By adopting your strategy of using a revision activity even before asking questions, I feel that I've found a new tool to add to my toolbox. Great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71