Tell me what to do in your city! / the best writing ideas by an English language teacher (3)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

7619-2.jpg

1


I am a tourist!

As we all know, people learn a new language to communicate with others and use it for their daily activities. When I teach my students English which is my major, I always try to do my best to help them use it in a funny and practical way. Thus, all the activities I arrange for them are based on some certain purposes. As you may have already seen in my previous posts, I am trying to give them some writing homework which can boost their knowledge and get them better at writing before using it in their speaking.

If you haven't see my previous posts, you are welcome to check my page. Today's topic is also very practical. As we all know, people need advice in their mother tongue or another language. When the idea is giving advice, I usually ask my students to give me advice about the city they are living at the moment. It is quite practical since it requires certain grammar and vocabulary knowledge. Also, it is not boring at all.


what-should-i-do.jpg

2


Give me advice

If you want to give this writing homework to your students, it is essential to learn required grammar subjects in lesson before practicing with a writing homework. As all English teachers know, must and should are the main grammar modals that we use to give people advice. I usually follow our main course book with them and teach them how to use these modal verbs.

When you tell them you are a tourist who would like to visit their city, they should easily understand what they need to use in their writing. As I said, this is quite practical since they might meet lots of foreigners on internet and those people may ask them for some advice about their cities. Doing this homework and using required modals will help them to feel confident and it will be rewarding for them as they can see that they can produce something.


Travel-Agent_p1.jpg

3


Expand vocabulary!

Our idea for homework is clear, but they need lots of thing to write a good advice letter to their imaginary friend. It is a good idea to list them the things they need to mention in their homework. Teachers should encourage students to look for the words which are related to tourism such as food, accommodation , transportation etc. It will help them to bring necessary grammar with needed vocabulary.

In addition to writing part, it can be also done in group works in class. You might choose a student and tell others that he is from a country and wants to come to their city. Each group can write their notes and present them to other groups. I am sure, all your students will love doing this exercise as everybody can have something to say about this.

It is one of my favorite activities as it can help your student to get better in various things such as grammar, vocabulary and speaking skills. When they present their ideas, those ideas will surely help them in their daily life since they are really useful and practical statement. When your students see that they can manage it, they will be more motivated for upcoming activities.


unknown.png


Education

This is what I usually do when I focus on teaching grammar related to giving advice. If you have your own ideas, you are welcome to write them in comment sections. Learning is never-ending process, so we can learn something from each other and be more beneficial for our students.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. I recommend you to have a look at their page to get more information about them. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

The language is important for us, opens the doors to many opportunities. When many tourists come or come in my country, I was always amazed at the ease with which they communicate. And I thought it is very difficult for me, but not really impossible.

That is for sure. We need to speak at least one language to communicate with the rest of the world.

Well writing about cool stuff one can do in the city must be fun.

In fact there are tons of ways to stimulate writing in my opinion.

Have you thought about promoting steem to your students? I bet this would be awesome for them

Cheers bud!

I am planning to do that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81