The Road To Success In Learning English!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

ext.jpeg

1


Start your own clubs!

As an English teacher who is working in a private school, one of the most common questions that I hear from my student is about the way of studying to learn English. There are some general answers that I give to my students. Today, I would like to talk about them and try to give some useful advice for people who are using Steemit either to learn English or get better at it.

First of all, one of the most problematic issues in learning a language is to use what you learn. When I look at my students and observe their aims, most of them come to course to speak the language as their mother language, but it is not so possible. To be able to speak English fluently, they need to try to speak the language as much as possible. We usually give them chances of speaking in our skill lessons which are run by native speakers of English language.


active-in-class.jpg

2


Take Action!

However, they are not so common. At this point, they need to be initiative and organize their own conversation classes. Even though they might find it boring since they all are from the same country, it is a must on the way of being successful in learning the language. Some people live in the same house and their aim is common which is learning a new language. Instead of communicating in mother language, the target language which they are learning can be used at home and in every possible place of their lives.

The second thing that students usually fail is the lack of participation in lessons. You can't expect someone to learn a language if student is not eager to produce something. When you don't try to make any contributions and attempt to express yourself in any skills of a language, it is impossible to catch success in the process. Therefore, I always force my students to be active my classes. They all agree with me when they see positive results after participating in lessons actively.


an interesting read.png.jpeg

3


Reading Habit

Learning a language is not all about speaking. Even if you focus only on speaking, you need to do other things which can help you to be fluent and efficient in speaking. The best way of doing that is reading. This is the common advice that I give to my students. Even though we as Turkish people are not fond of reading, this is the way to success in learning a new language. If you ask the reason why I am so insistent, there are lots of answer which can be given.

To be a real achiever in a new language, our brains need to be full of words and phrases. Reading is the best way of letting our brain be filled with them. The more we read, the more word we learn and in the end, we get better at expressing ourselves in the language we are learning. In addition to its importance, it is also crucial to read books which may catch your attention. Nobody can enjoy a book which seems boring for the reader.


college_essay_writing.jpg

4


Creativity and Interest!

Learning is not an easy process. It comes out by studying hard. The most important thing in learning it is the word of interest and creativity. I always urge my students to be creative and interested in all skills of learning the language. When we come to the issue of creativity, I need to say a few words about writing skill in English language.

In all languages, skills are strongly connected to each other. As a young teacher who has already seen lots of students, I advise my students to write as many articles, dialogues and stories as possible. They may complain about making mistakes while writing, but that is totally fine. When they get used to writing habit, they feel more confident in speaking which opens the gates to full success in a new language.


unknown.png


Steemit

Steemit is a good source for me in my career. I try to introduce this amazing platform and blockchain to my student as much as possible. If they want to be more practical in English, they need to see how this language is used by others. When they see how the language is used by others, they will surely become a part of it more effectively. I hope, you will find this post useful and apply in your own experiences.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Everyone is welcome to have a look at @steemiteducation page and educate all people! Thanks for reading


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

Hi teachblogger,

great post!

I would like to add watching whatever interests you in Wnglish as it is easy in our days to use streaming portals like netflix or listen to a variety of accents on youtube.

The latter improved espacially my pronounciation a lot.

Keep up the great work.

yes, I agree with you, that is also very useful :)


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

thank you so much for the support!

Congratulations, your post is very interesting! There are many resources that can be used in the English classroom. The ideas explained here are very good.

thank you so muchh :)

As an English teacher who's first language isn't English, I can understand the frustrations my learners face when in my class but I know it's for their own good. I force my learners to speak English by ignoring them when they communicate with me in their mother tongue. It seems to be working but I need to push them a little bit more. How do you force yours to comply to your rule?

I try to put some rules in class by giving them some sort of funny punishments ( like buying coffee) when they break the rules. In addition to that, I usually have long speeches with them in order to make them understand that it is for their own good.

Lol. The coffee punishment is actually funny. I'll device similar means and see if they work. I always learn something from your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15