STEEMHOMEWORK: Building Relationships with Students

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)



Hello everyone! This is my first Steemhomework for @steemiteducation since HF20. If you're interested to know and participate in this week's Steemhomework, please check this out.




QUESTION:


Building relationships with students can be an important factor to student success. Name some ways that you use to connect to your students. Is there a student who you struggled to get to know, or were able to connect with very well?


ANSWER:



In my teaching career so far, I have been able to meet various types of students. I was also exposed to different types of teaching environment. And because of that, I'd like to share my experiences in these teaching environment individually.

Teaching In A Classroom Setting




With some of my students during my practice teaching a couple years ago. It was Valentine's Day when this picture was taken. (^^,)


I have only experienced teaching in a classroom setting during my practice teaching days. I have shared about it before, but I'll share it again in this post.

I taught in a night high school during my practice teaching days. Most students were working students and some of them rarely attend classes because they're either tired from work or they thought studying wouldn't really mean that much.

I joined their class as a student teacher during the second half of the school year. When I met them, I wanted to do something for them. More than teaching, I wanted them to realize the value of education. So I tried to find ways to encourage and motivate them.

It was difficult at first because I was new and I was still a student teacher. What I did first was figure out ways on how to establish rapport and gain the students' trust.

In days when my schedule with them was in the first period, I decided to go to their classroom ahead of time... not to start the class early, but to talk to them and get to know them. I also got the opportunity to listen to their stories because of that.

They started opening up to me more, and they told me their worries and concern regarding their studies and life outside the school. Eventually, I got to understand them even more. Having this kind of relationship with students is really useful even during class. Once I got to know the student personally, it wasn't difficult for me to know his/her capability as a learner. They, on the other hand, no longer hesitate to ask questions nor request me to re-explain some concepts that were difficult for them.

Despite being friendly with each other outside the class, we maintained our student-teacher relationship during class hours. They never failed to show their respect. Until now, I keep in touch with some of them. They're now in Senior High School and are on their journey to the real world.


TEACHING IN THE ENGLISH ACADEMY






I used to be a man-to-man teacher in a Korean-owned English Academy here in our place. In that academy, I also sometimes handled group classes with up to four students, as well as voabulary classes at night with around 20-30 students.

Handling man-to-man classes gave me the opportunity to connect with students more. Most students in the academy were University students and working adults.

Aside from having students of different ages, they're also from various Asian countries like Korea, Japan, Taiwan and China. Getting to know them was really interesting for me. They got different personalities, beliefs, principles, etc. As a teacher, I had to adjust to them not only in terms of the teaching style but also in handling them individually. There were a lot of things to consider. It was challenging yet enjoyable.

Looking for similar interests, being open-minded and showing interest in their culture made the gap lesser. Honestly, it was easier for me to deal with Japanese students because I have been interested in their culture for a very long time. However, it didn't take me that long to get along well with the other students as well.

Anyway, there was a time when something really challenging happened to me in the Academy. One of my students was the serious type and he wanted us to discuss Philosophy and exchange thoughts on various stuff. I wasn't into Philosophy and I was known as the jolly otaku teacher there, so I thought it was a mismatch. However, I did my best to adjust to the student but still made the class enjoyable. When he graduated, he thanked me. :)

I still keep in touch with some of my students in that academy. Whenever they visit the Philippines, they contact me so we could meet up and catch up. Some of them were really close to me and my family that they call my parents mom and dad, and consider me their sister/brother (lol).

TEACHING ONLINE






I'm currently an online English teacher to mostly Japanese and other English learners. We just open some classes and random students would book them. However, despite this style, there'll be students who would book your classes again and again.

The message above is a message from one of my regular students. She has been my student for around two years now and we have been able to have such a good relationship.

Every time I see my regular students booking my lesson, I feel excited and happy.

It's actually more difficult to create a bond with students in this kind of setting because you don't meet the same students every day, unless both your schedules match. However, as a teacher, you have to leave a great impression on the student. If the first class you have with a certain student is memorable and productive, then they'll definitely book your classes again and again when they get the chance. :)

Also, I met my Japanese best friend in this school. He used to be my student, but when he decided to leave the online school to go abroad, he contacted me. He's no longer a student in this school, but we kept in touch and he even visited me in Cebu before. :)

It's nice to get to know people from various countries, get to know their culture and tradition and know more about their country. I strongly believe that being a teacher doesn't end at teaching. It's always a two-way process, because teachers also learn a lot from their students.


That would be all for my homework. Thanks a lot for reading and have a great day! (^^,)/



@tegoshei supports @steemiteducation

Sort:  


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

This post has received a 3.2 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85