UNRELENTING GUTS (an original story by @tegoshei)

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


APDC1012.JPG


Once there was a young girl who lived with her parents. Her name is Shamy and she's an only child. Because of that, her parents are somewhat overprotective. She wasn't allowed to go out aside from school and her piano lessons. Honestly, she doesn't really like playing the piano that much for she wanted to play something else.

One day, Shamy was invited by her friend at school to play basketball. She has played it during PE, but this is the first time for her to play it outside their PE class. She's unexpectedly good at it and she enjoys the game very much that she couldn't find herself rejecting the invitation.

The coach of the girl's basketball team of their school happened to pass by the school gym when Shamy and her friends were playing. He saw great potential on her and decided to invite her to join the team the next day.

"Hello sir. My homeroom teacher said that you were looking for me."

"Oh Shamy! Have a seat." He said gesturing at the chair in front of him.

"I saw you play basketball yesterday at the gym and I must say, you have a natural talent for it. Have you always been playing the sport?"

"Thank you sir!" She smiled. "It was my first time playing it outside my PE class."

"Really? It seemed like you've trained a lot. Your footwork is amazing and you can even take several 3-point shots yesterday! Your height and your agility are great perks."

Shamy was too overwhelmed to say something. She silently, yet, excitedly listened to the coach.

"Shamy, would you like -- no, Please join my team!"

Her heart went "BOOM!" when she heard the invitation. She felt herself shaking in excitement. "I would love to!" There was a short pause, "However, I'm not sure whether my parents would allow me or not."

"I see. You don't have to give me your answer yet. Talk it out with your parents first. If you want me to help you, just let me know, okay?




Later that day, she arrived home feeling half-excited and half-worried. During dinner, she opened up her conversation with the coach earlier that day as well as her eagerness to play the sport.

"What? Isn't that dangerous? We didn't raise you to get hurt!"

"But mom... I really want to try it out." She looked at her dad for support, but...

"Just listen to your mom, okay?"

Though broken hearted, she silently nodded.





Days passed by since then, but Shamy's desire to play basketball just grew even more. After class, she secretly practiced with the basketball team.

She somehow lied and told the coach that her parents allowed her to play for as long as she continues her piano lessons. That's why the coach happily welcomed her to the team.

She did her best at being the best daughter she could be for her parents. While secretly enjoying the thing she loves the most, she also placed in effort on her piano lessons and of course, her academics.

The time for their first official match came and she thought it's high time to convince her parents again. And so, during dinner time the night before the match...

"Mom, dad... there's something I want to say."

"What is it dear?"

"Well. there's an event tomorrow at the school's gymnasium and I am going to participate. It's at 3PM, so I hope you could both come and watch it."

Her parents both agreed to go. And when the event/match started, they saw their only daughter gleaming with joy as she dribbles and shoots the ball as if it was a natural thing to do. She looked so happy every time their team scores and you can really see the determination in her eyes. Such passion that everyone in the gym couldn't help but cheer.

Through her and her team's effort, they won the first match and will move on to the next game.

When the game and their short meeting ended, she went to where her parents were.

"Mom, dad... were you surprised? I'm really sorry that I lied, but I just can't give up playing basketball. This is the first time I felt so passionate about something. I feel so happy and accomplished."

Her parents looked at each other before turning to her. Her mother smiled and gave her a big hug.

"We're not very surprised, dear. We already knew you were doing this secretly. Who do you take us for?" He mom joked.

"Eh? But how?" She was dumbfounded.

Her mom laughed a bit before replying, "Well, I do the laundry at home and your PE uniform stinked more than usual." She smiled, "also... your coach called us. Of course, I didn't agree at first but when we saw you doing your best in school and in your piano lessons, how can I not agree?"

"Besides," her dad interrupted, "When we saw you play today, we can't be any prouder. You looked so cool. You really shined!

"Dad! Mom!" with teary eyes, she threw herself into her parents' embrace. "Thank you so much!"

Her dad patted her head, "Why don't we celebrate your first victory? My treat!"





From then on, Shamy's parents supported her with all of their heart. They were amazed at their daughter's determination not to give up on the things that she loves. It's a trait that everyone should possess... the heart to never give up no matter what happens.


@tegoshei




I SUPPORT @steemiteducation!!!

Sort:  

This was such a lovely, heart-warming story - thank you so much for sharing it! It's so inspiring to read about someone so determined and passionate that they win everyone over with their dedication. Lovely work!
E x

Thank you so much for reading @eveningart. :) I'm glad to know that you enjoyed my story. ^^ I'll write more stories which will inspire people to also do their best. ^^ Have a lovely day!

Loved it! I'm looking forward to more of your stories - anything inspirational can just catch someone and lift their day. You're like a ray of sunshine! E x

Aww.. thank you so much... <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17