What A Crazy Way To Start My Class Earlier This Morning!!!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


Let me tell you a crazy story about what happened this morning!!!



IMAGE SOURCE



My first class today starts at 10:30 in the morning. Thirty minutes prior to it, I already started my preparation like adding new students in Skype, checking the student's request for the lesson and preparing messages to the students.

I was quite confident because the strong typhoon has finally left the Philippines and the weather forecast said the weather would be fine from today. Suddenly, the weather turned sour and it started raining cats and dogs around ten minutes before my class. I was a bit worried, but I stayed positive.

Five minutes before the class, there was an explosion! Oops... The electric post's fuse exploded and the electricity was cut off. Normally, we would call the company to cancel the lesson. However, I didn't want to cancel. If I did, I would pay a fine and will get a deduction from my salary. (lol)

I hurriedly switched from PC to laptop (good thing my laptop has 100% battery), asked my father to send me some load on my smartphone, connected to data and used tethering from smartphone to laptop. Then, turned on my portable emergency light...

LOADING....
LOADING....
LOADING....

CONNECTED!!



Yosh! My mind shouted. I hurriedly logged in to my Skype account used for work and called my first student. Gosh! I was 3 minutes late... but we usually have a 5-minute break before the next class, so I decided to extend to conduct a full class.

When my first student answered the call, I hurriedly apologized for being late and explained my situation. He's new to my class and it was our first time having a class together. He's an 8-year old boy, but he could speak English pretty well. He was also so smart, witty and talkative that we enjoyed having the class together despite my situation.

Somehow, I didn't mind the heat and just enjoyed studying and talking with that 8-year old kid. I'm really glad he had fun and was thankful for my class extension.

It's time for the second class and the electricity wasn't back yet. So, I called my next student. Lucky for me, he's one of my regular students so when I told him the situation, he didn't mind at all and was actually thankful that I didn't cancel the class.

We talked about random things as usual since he always opt to have a free conversation with me every time he books my class. I guess the first time he took my class was around 2 years ago, so somehow we had a number of classes already. Despite that, we never run out of topic to talk about. After the class, he even sent me a comment on my page.





Most students comment in Japanese, so yeah... if I don't understand the comment fully, I ask help from Uncle Google translator, and below was the translation.





This made me really happy because I felt that my effort wasn't put to waste and that I'm being appreciated. It's important for me to let my students enjoy the lesson as well aside from learning something. I believe that if they enjoy what they're doing, they'll find the motivation to continue.

Then the last class for this morning started, still, with no electricity. I'm just lucky that the students were so understanding and that despite the situation, they found my class satisfactory. Hopefully, the next time I conduct classes to those students my working condition is at its best! ^^

At around lunch, the electricity came back and I'm also back on my PC. My 4th student this day was absent though, so I utilized this free time by writing this blog. I hope you had fun reading my story today.

Be passionate in everything you do. Enjoy it and take care of the people who are constantly there to help and support you.

Sort:  


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84