SteemitMamas Day 20 Write-Along: Street photography + health advice

in #steemitmamas6 years ago (edited)

20180914_015910_0001.png
Design by Canva app

Gosh, this is SteemitMamas' Day 20 Write-Along Challenge and I am only beginning to draft my first post after so many challenges posted. Sorry ladies!

I shall attempt combining the recent two challenges into one 😬

Not too long ago, my parents came over to KL for my younger sister's wedding. I have shared in one of my earlier posts of my memorable moment with my Mama who decided to tie the hair of her eldest daughter.

While doing that, she started asking how I was doing with the baby and how things were with life. Truth be told, I always drag answering 'how are you's only because most of the time, it's more of a passing statement than a genuine concern, and really, these days my life is pretty much a routine of making sure my two little humans are alive and well. Not exactly the kind of conversation most working, upbeat, unmarried young adults would like to engage in.

Anyhoo, I'm not saying there aren't genuine conversations, just not as many and often as I hope it to be.

One of the best advice I have received from my Mama on that hair tying moments was this, you have a responsibility to yourself.

Yes, especially if you are a parent, I would like to shout this to your face.

YOU HAVE A RESPONSIBILITY TO YOURSELF.

We have little humans to raise, bills to pay, deadlines to meet, schedules to catch, chauffeuring day in day out, and while we beam at the fact that our family and little ones are thriving, it's easy to lose track of ourselves.

And if we're not careful, we let ourselves go.

When the reality of having two children hit me, I lost all sense of coordination. My days were upside down. I couldn't cook, couldn't bathe, couldn't even pee when I have to. My clothes were stained, my body sore, and I had to constantly battle between having to ignore the crazy that was happening with my first born to screaming at her.

It was tough. It still is.

My big baby loves her baby brother. But she was warring against me, for reasons I clearly know, which was to get my attention. And instead of getting upset with her all the time, I took time to explain to her and changed my tone. And with that, we reconnected.

Bathe.

Of course, who doesn't bathe everyday? Me. It took me a couple months to get use to the new groove, and believe me when I say in those times I felt like I understood why cats don't like baths. LOL I was just too tired all the time, and when I finally had some time to myself, bathing wasn't on the top of my list. I ended getting dandruff because of my oily scalp, and my Mama noticed that. Don't worry, they were gone after I got a good nag 😂 And yes, if you must know, I bathe everyday.

You have a responsibility to yourself.

You take care of yourself well, you take care of your family well. Bathe and be refreshed. Clean yourself well. Give yourself some time to care for your own well-being. Brush your teeth. Wash your face. When you are refreshed, your children will be happier.

Don't beat yourself up.

Parenting is hard enough. Be gracious to ourselves. One day at a time. One day at a time. One day at a time.

Choose your battles. We don't have to entertain every crazy that comes our way.

Drink lots of water. Lack of water is one of the biggest reasons why our body easily fails. And please, EAT. Don't skip meals.

Laugh and enjoy the little things. You want lots of good stuff to look back to in your memory book.

Deep breaths and pray. Speak goodness over yourself, your family and circumstances. Many times our challenges are liken to a magnified grain of sand. Sometimes the only ones that would speak good over our family are ourselves. Words bring life and change. Speak life. Thank God I have Christ. Thank God I have Christ.

My biggest health advice is to love. It strengthens the heart muscles, lifts up the spirit, brightens our emotions with happy hormones, increases productivity in our brain.

Love.

And with that, here's a street photo to conclude my post. This was taken from our recent day out to the botanical garden. Remember, whichever path you choose, choose the one that brings life. 😊

image


20180212_193505.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

20180516_002249_0001.png


@steemitbloggers

Asapers.gif

Sort:  

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thank you for dropping by :)

You got voted by @votefun thanks to Alimamasstory. To support development, check out @rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Alimamasstory! This bot is managed by @KiwiBot and run by @rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of @KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Very true @alimamasstory. These are all things we know, but sometimes we let the craziness take over and more often then not, we sacrifice our own needs for those that depend on us. Thank you for the reminders.

thanks for those lovely reminders <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81