FUCK CANCER! - How cancer destroys the whole family

in #steemitmamas5 years ago (edited)

There are things that we don't want to happen but we have to accept, things you don't want to know about but have to learn, and people we don't want to live without but have to learn how to...

How can you possibly put into words the immense feeling of sadness and emptiness felt when you lose the first person you ever loved and loved your whole life?

You can try, but simply cannot.

And what if that loss was accompanied by an overwhelming sense of guilt and regret for choices made that affected your relationship in the past?

It is mentally and emotionally exhausting!

In my time away from the Steemit community I have lost my father to cancer. In only 13 weeks from diagnosis to his death, and it just felt like an emotional whirlwind tornado in my world.

They say there are 7 stages of grief and from my own experience, my grieving had started from the day I received that message my father was terminally ill with a very rare form of cancer and as I have obsessively read self-help articles and stories about dealing and overcoming immense feelings of grief in a bid to take away the feelings of hurt and anguish, I have come to discover that these feelings I process are not uncommon at all and in a somewhat effort to try and filter my thoughts and emotions I am sharing my story.

1. SHOCK- That moment that time stood still

As I held my phone in my hand a tear began to roll down my cheek. My throat began to feel like it was tightening and my body began shaking. My husband asked me what was the matter and like on autopilot I retreated to my bathroom and locked myself in my bathroom with the lights off. I turned on the hot shower and found myself in fetal position howling. I didn't believe my eyes and prayed this news was just some horrible joke or an exaggerated diagnosis.

My wish to be reunited with my beloved family wasn't meant to be like this and living overseas home had never felt so far away.

Through the powers of video chat, my father and I found each other spending countless hours on calls each day. In between work and family life my brain became obsessed by learning about everything cancer. I spent many calls sharing the latest cancer cure diets and natural therapies and treatments.

It was all I could think of and it began to consume me. I would be up every day into the early hours of the morning each day searching for a cure and counting down the hours until I finished work until I could talk with him. On the days we couldn't chat I felt guilty. Suddenly everything around me was all about him.



I guess that was leading me to the second step:

2. DENIAL - It cannot be terminal.... we got this!

I am a firm believer in the magical powers of mind power and how our thoughts can be responsible for circumstances that happen in your life. I wasn't ready to give up hope.

With the doctors stating there were no options for treatment aside from pain relief and knowing my father wouldn't be against using CBD oils as a natural treatment therapy, I found a supplier entered my credit card details and had his first bottle of medicine express posted to him.

As much as I said I didn't have my hopes up for that I had found him that miracle cure, I did!

There is no denying I still hadn't wrapped my head around the actual terminal diagnosis and I refused to believe this was happening to us...not my family...not my Dad, I only just have him back! We got this, our family has always been fighters! We can beat this!

3. ANGER - That frustrating outpour of bottled up emotions.

My husband has felt the brunt of most of my outbursts. As he tried/tries to offer me his love and support I feel like a burden to him and prefer to deal with my emotions alone and internally. But in not sharing the weight of the load my emotions have many times exploded like scorching hot lava spewing from a volcano.

Thank goodness my husband is a kind, understanding, loving and patient man. I certainly couldn't do this without his guidance and support and am ever so thankful to him.

I felt/feel angry for many reasons. The way I let trivial bullshit get in the way of my family and lead to years spent apart. Angry that I had only rekindled this relationship and faced losing him soon, angry that the doctors were not willing to try anything and everything to help my father survive. Angry I was so far away from home. Angry that everyone couldn't see we could beat this and miracles really do happen. Angry that this was something that I may not be able to fix. I am the eldest child of my family and mother of 5 of my own children. I always found a way to "fix things" or make things work.

4. BARGAINING- Things are getting better right, he has a chance

After using the CBD oils for a short time my father began to report of slight improvements he was feeling, reduction in swelling he had in his legs and feet, increased appetite, improved concentration, and some pain relief. The news couldn't have made me any happier and I became determined to encourage my father to adopt more and more natural treatments.

At the time I had felt content in sending my 3 eldest children back home to spend an extended period of time with my family. Although I wish I had been able to send all 5 of my children and had sacrificed my own seat but knew to give my father the opportunity to enjoy as many of his grandchildren in the flesh was not only important for him but also for the children.

As their plane left and my house fell a quiet my household never hears, my random sobbing sounded louder than usual.

Two weeks into the children's trip and after a turn of personal circumstances, I was able to fly out with the rest of my family and spent a short time with my father. After believing that this wasn't even possible because of finances of flying a family of 7 internationally this was a dream come true and a moment in time I will be forever grateful for. My mother and sisters planned a beautiful time and everything was perfect! We even made time to take the most amazing family portraits.

The only thing was now I had seen, smelt and touched him I felt even more desperate not to lose him and was willing to buy or do anything to make it happen.

5. DEPRESSION - The realization of the inevitable

The plane ride home was hard. My emotions were everywhere. As I stood in the ques of people I wondered if any strangers around me could sense the immense feelings of sadness and weight I felt I was carrying. As I moved my thoughts away from myself I began to wonder if anyone else around me too was carrying weight like mine all while yo-yo-ing between feeling empathy for the people around me to anger that they were getting so caught up and flustered over the little things like missing a connecting flight....there are bigger issues in the world right now buddy!

My father's condition declined rapidly and he was no longer able to be at home and readmitted back into palliative care. "The doctors believe before Christmas and are surprised your father is fighting this hard, he is amazing them", my mum said. The realization that my father was dying was slapping me in the face and I wasn't ready to face it. I was destroyed but had to like always keep my shit together and silently fade away inside. Keep your shit together Monique! I would remind myself,

As the days went on and my father's pain relief medication increased and cancer began to take over his brain he began to lose track of our conversations and drop his phone constantly as the medications took effect. "I sorry I dropped you darling" he would say until he couldn't fight to fall asleep any longer and as the phone dropped for the last time I felt content in listening to him snore.

His ability to talk on the phone decreased by the day and by Christmas Eve when I was most desperate to hear his voice he became unresponsive. Although I went through the motions for my children Christmas was hard. It was only the evening of Christmas after talking with my mum again I finally began to accept what was going on. It didn't mean it was OK though.

This desperate feeling of needing to hear from my father only intensified and I hated myself for not being able to remember every single detail of our last call. What if he never wakes again? Did I tell him I loved him?

This feeling continued to intensify until the very early hours of New Years Day when I received the call that would change my life forever....my father had passed away.

I broke down and whaled and cried until I passed out and then awoke with tears still running down my face. I grabbed my phone to check the time and saw I had a message from my father. Maybe it was all a dream? I played the voice message left and it was from my father saying goodbye and not to cry for him. My mum had sent it. Even in the lead up of losing her own love of her life, she was still thoughtful enough to carry out this beautiful gesture for Dad. Something I will treasure forever.

image.png

My world will never be the same again. The man who dried my tears from a broken hearts, rubbed my legs after soccer games and was my biggest fan, the man shared sympathy pains while I labored with my daughter Scarlet, the man who would carry me from the car as I pretended to sleep as a little girl, the man who shed a tear as he first held each of his 5 grandchildren I presented him with, the first man I loved and will love my whole entire life is gone forever.
image.pngImage Source
My heart and soul will never be the same again and as I now bounce through the stages of grief like scribbles on the image above I feel fearful this anguish and hurt and anger inside will never subside and, if how I feel at the moment is anything to go by, I fear I may never be able to reach the next step of grief let alone the final step ... acceptance. These last 13 weeks have destroyed me. I can only imagine how my mother feels losing her soul mate of 35 years. She pretends to be brave and wears it on the inside like me.

One thing I do know is that I blessed with the love and support of my husband and family and their love and support cradles me through this dark time,


Want to check out some of my usual posts and adventures?
https://steemit.com/@mumma-monza


20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Please accept my deepest sympathies for your loss @mumma-monza I read every heartbreaking word that you have written and felt your pain.......having lost much loved parents within 11 days of each other.

I hope that in the writing of this blog (correction: Love Letter to your father) you will experience cathartic release from your suffering. You cannot and must not suppress the myriad of emotions swirling around your head but over time, as healing takes place you will be able to embrace the many positives relating to the relationship you shared with your Dad and are still sharing with your Mum.

When the anger abates.......and it will....... you will see so much beauty in what you have written and will experience a sense of joy and peace knowing just how blessed your dad was to have you in his life and vis-versa.

Anyone who has a caring heart will have certain regrets about incidents we could have handled better once a loved one has left us, but that is a sure indication of just how much they meant to us.

Be kind to yourself as you heal and be open to receive the comfort in whatever form it is unconditionally offered from your husband, children, family and friends. It is true that 'your world will never be the same,' but it is all the more richer for having been loved and given love to the extent that you have.

I send you hugs, love and prayers Monica.

Losing someone close to you is very difficult
The one thing I am happy is that you reconnected with your Dad in the time you had

Mum succumbed to Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma. The last 10 days she would be conscious 20 seconds tops every few hours. The last time she opened her eyes on my watch, I jumped up from my chair and asked her if everything's ok. If she was ready to go home? I still remember her smile (no dentures), she held me and said "I love you" and then she closed her eyes. Til today, I hold on to that. It was the last thing she said to me. Maybe she knew. It has been two years, but even now writing this .....

Time will help you feel better. Just know that you did all you could. I am glad you reconnected with your Dad. I am glad you got to spend some time with him. Hold on to the good

Hugs <3

Sorry you’ve been through such a hard time, and I’m sure I will too when I get there. Thanks for sharing all your emotions and experiences. Much love and hugs from me xx 🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just want you to know that I listened, I read through your experience and I am so sorry for this great and painful loss. I can’t imagine, I won’t try but I hope for comfort and healing for you and your family. ❤️

Hi, just want to tell you, I may not understand all the emotions you went through, but I am sorry for your loss. And here I want to send you love, and prayers. Hope things will get better as it goes., ❤️

Dear dear mumma-Monza, I am crying Reading your story..... you have a way withWords girl! I wish you strength and time Thats the only thing you need cause the pain will always be There !
Big hug
Steem
Mama
Britt

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 153 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mumma-monza from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

very nice. of you to share this. i know it was tough writing this out. as you had to relive the moment again. it is very never easy to cope with loss. no answer on what to do. just how it is

with respect i now follow you. upvote and resteem. so others can see your work. thanks again for sharing

Congratulations @mumma-monza! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87