What would change about your parenting?

in #steemitmamas5 years ago (edited)

When I found out I was pregnant, I was very much overjoyed. I have been wanting to have a kid. I already have plans, hopes and dreams for her even before she was born. Even before I saw those two lines. And so during my entire pregnancy, I have been very careful. I only ate food that I know would be good for her, I avoided anything that the doctor says would harm her. Even staying up late for my hobbies. I literally changed myself just so I could be the best mother for her.

When she finally came out, I was filled with so much happiness, I almost forgot that I went through 18 hours of labor. No, there were no tearful moments because the first words that came out of my mouth when I saw her was "Hi Baby! Oh, why do you look like your dad?"

The Beginning

But I have already noticed how protective I was of her. When the nurse took her from me after our first hour cuddle to show her to her dad and to clean her up, (they didn't allow my husband to be beside me during the childbirth) I kept looking at the door. Crazy thoughts were running in my head.

Where has she brought my baby?

What's taking too long? (She only took my baby out to her father for some 3-5 minutes.)

Is she really just taking her to her father?

I almost wanted to get up if my doctor hasn't finished stitching me up down there. I wanted to shout "Where's that nurse! Bring my baby back to me!"

I thought that was just normal back then. Mother's instinct. Mother's care. Mother's love. But as she grew up, I find it hard for me to let her go. I can't literally leave her alone even with her grandparents or aunts. I know I am just being protective but I feel like I am almost crossing the line of being an overprotective mother.

The Fingernail Incident

And it didn't help when her aunt accidental cuts her fingernail a tad too short, it wouldn't stop bleeding. This was when she was one month old. It took me months before I could forgive my sister-in-law. I know I am a bit overreacting but she made my little bleed. If it were legal, I'd have made her bleed too. (That's how furious I was back then.) When I was finally getting over being angry, the same aunt did the same thing. Again. This was just a few days ago. And needless to say, I am back to square one again.

A Bit too Paranoid

20190209_160415.jpg

But anything that's going overboard is not good. When I noticed that I am being too overprotective, I started to loosen up a bit. Whenever I bring her out to the park or to the mall, I let her run around, jump, fall, get up, and just literally have fun. A huge part of me is screaming to go to her, pick her up and protect her in my arms. But I always remind myself that I need to let her enjoy being a kid too.

I used to bring my baby carrier whenever we go out. This used to be because she falls asleep easily before. But when she was growing up, the reason I carry her in the baby carrier is to protect her from any possible abduction. Yes! I am that paranoid! She's my first baby and I feel there is always danger lurking around. While I am typing this, I feel silly.

Slowly but Surely

IMG_20190211_144650_381.jpg

Now that she can walk and talk and run and jump around, it gets a bit harder for me to keep her in my mom-radar. But I can say that I am slowly loosening my grip. Little by little, I am noticing some progress. I can now let her walk beside me when we go out to the mall. I can now sit down by the benches while I am watching her run in the grassfield. I now can stop myself from overreacting when I see her fall.

I know I still have to work on letting her go out with our relatives without my presence. But after the second nail-cutting incident, I think it is going to take some more time for me to let her out of my sight. But I know we'll get there. For now, I just want to enjoy her company. While I am still her hero. While I am still her only best friend. While I am still the only person she wants to comfort her when she is in pain.

This is my entry to @steemitmamas' Parent Contest.Thank you @steemitmamas for this opportunity to share our parenthood thoughts.

84irykqm0a.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry to the Steemitmamas contest!
We appreciate your sharing!
Upvoted and resteemed!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for your entry for Week 3! To be honest my husband and I were the same way with our first and second and then once the third came we started loosening up. I know some may say you can be over protective but I don’t believe in that. I don’t think you can ever “protect” your children too much. If we weren’t living in such cruel and heartless times then maybe it would be different. But as a parent I tend to go with my gut instinct and if something doesn’t feel right I treat it as if it’s not right.

As they get older and are able to voice their concerns or tell us when they are afraid or feel threatened, then it is easier letting go more. When we are their only voice it’s normal to be more protective.

I will admit sometimes I give myself anxiety by thinking we are always in danger but sadly with all that’s going on I don’t know how to think otherwise.

Continue to protect as you feel the need and as your daughter gets older and is able to use her voice more, it gets easier to give them more space.

Keep up the great parenting mama! 😊

Oh and I remember when I clipped my first daughter’s nails when she was a month old, I made her little finger bleed too. I cried so long and felt so guilty even though it was an accident. I stopped clipping my babies nails and just filed them until they were a little older. Their tiny hands and nails are so delicate.

Thanks for your kind words. I have always felt anxious when we go out, always on the look out, always paranoid. Haha. You're right. When something doesn't feel right, we should always think it's not right.
Yeah, baby's nails are really so delicate. That's why I'm always extra careful. I know I'll get over my anger over this little fingernail incident.
I hope we get more contests like this. 😍😍😍

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.358 which ranks you at #19229 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #133.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75