The Mommy Bag

in #steemitmamas5 years ago

So today, me and my two year old toddler are going out. We're going swimming, meet with friends, eat out, enjoy. Sounds fun, right? But mommy has to pack the things we need to bring. If you're a first time mom like me, chances are you have experienced having to bring a lot of baby stuff on an out of the house adventure.

My motto used to be "It's better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it at all." I got this from Adam Sandler's movie where he has a twin sister. I forgot the title already. Anyways, I lived by that motto especially on the first months of motherhood. Imagine me carrying two oversized baby bags whenever we go out for her monthly checkups or vaccinations. Yes. Two big baby bags. Remember my motto? Nah uh! Not a good idea.

For a trip to her pedia, I would bring 3-4 diapers, 4-5 change of clothes - this is a head to toe set of clothes, a baby mat, a diaper changing mat, her medicine kit, the baby carrier (I used to use a sling carrier), feeding bottles (I used to be ashamed of breastfeeding in public so I pump my milk at home then we bring the EBM whenever we go out), toys, cloth diapers, lots of baby towels, and so much more. I might as well just brought her closet, right? Better to have it and not need it. LOL!

That was the worst motto I ever applied in my whole motherhood life so far. Because guess what, I could never go out with my daughter alone. I always needed help. But things changed while she grew up. Now I realize I should only bring what's necessary.

So for today,s overnight escapade, the mommy bag only consists of the following:

3 change of clothes for each of us
3 extra sandos for her
Her towel
My towel
Her formula milk
Her feeding bottles
First aid kit
Vanity kit
Her books
My book

I learned to just bring what is necessary. All these would fit in my backpack. If I had to go out on an overnight during the time I had that silly motto, I might as well brought my husband with me to carry all the stuff. But daddy has to go to work and mommy has to hang out with friends and baby has to disperse all the energy she has. So... Pack light.

xjqkpnlibx.jpg
source

Sort:  

I like that there are books in the bag, people rarely bring them or even read them these days. You even have those for the baby, nice one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I still prefer those over e-books. My daughter seemed to get the liking too so I tolerate her book addiction. I have a feeling that if we swing by a mall today, she'll be asking me to buy her new books. Haha

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I was exactly like yourself with my first born. I would triple pack everything and I mean everything so that I need not have to go searching to buy it at the stores. Going outdoors with my son was tiring so we tend to stay indoors most of the time. I get cranky very fast too and tired most of the time as I needed to work during the day.
By the time I had my second son, I took it real easy that I sometimes feel guilty for not giving him the attention he truly needed as compared to his older brother.

I think almlst all first time moms go through this phase: the overpreparing phase. Maybe you just learned the lesson and applied it to your second kid. I think we moms has the innate ability to distribute our love evenly to our kids. So don't worry momma. I know you're doing great. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87