Write Along Day 5 Prompt 3: What Is Your Favorite Childhood Toy?

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

Balloon Festival-4.jpg

Hello Steemitmamas,

Welcome to Day 5 of our write along and our third prompt.

Just last week, I had a date with my middle child at the Toy Store. We walked there holding hands, counting her money and imagining what we would be coming home with. Once there, she was going bananas in the doll section. She could not figure out what she wanted. A new baby? Barbie Clothes? A costume? Shopkins? A Cheerios Cereal Box for Barbies? While she was giddily running from toy to toy hugging them, there was another slightly older little girl staring at her.

"I used to love this section of the toy store too." She told me. Clearly she felt more comfortable speaking to the adult, than the child though I could tell she was only a couple of years older than my kid.

Then the girl went on to tell me about all the toys she "used to like." And how she had given most of them away now that she was older, and how she wished she would have kept more of her "childhood toys."

It really got me thinking about my trolls. Yes, I used like trolls. But I liked the quints dolls better. I named all five of them and wanted to keep them forever. But I was slightly too old for toys, and my younger cousins really liked them, and I gave them away. Years later, I still have some troll dolls (they have been absorbed into the current toy box), but I really wish I had my quints. (Especially now that I see how much they are worth!)


picture compliments of Vintage Toy Corner on Etsy

What about you? What was your favorite childhood toy?

For today's writing challenge, tell us all about your favorite childhood toy. Remember to share the post in the comments.

20180516_002249_0001.png

images and graphics used are mine and compiled together using Canva or simply uploaded from my phone. except the banners which are used with the permission of the community who they were created for

Sort:  

Visited, commented and upvoted.

Congratulations @steemitmamas! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Visited, commented and upvoted. Your “best friend” was fun to read about.

"Back in the day"....when it was okay to play "army"....I would spend hours setting up my little plastic soldiers and vehicles ready to do battle....the battle would last five minutes...

Thank you for sharing such a fun memory. We had a plastic toy army when we were growing up too. We used to make parachutes for them and throw them from the roofs.

Visited Commented and upvoted. Lovely post <3

Trolls are superb. Ha ha.. I remember them from the McDonald happy meal long time ago

Toys that do not go out of style, I have some saved

Tell us all about them! We would love to see a post about it.

Visited, commented and upvoted!

Visited, commented and upvoted. Im really enjoying the responses. Thanks for playing along.

Awesome! Thank you!

I’m enjoying the responses too!! This is fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05