Better Late Than Never : Steemit Name Challenge

in #steemitnamechallenge6 years ago (edited)

We recently stumbled upon a long lost comment from @livinguktaiwan nominating us to participate in the steemit name challenge as she was curious as to where we got our name from. Apologies for having missed your comment for so long! We recently started trying to use busy (which has detailed NOTIFICATIONS! PRAISE THE LORD!) and so we hope to be a little more on top of our shit.

buttpackerlogo400.jpg

So the name Buttpacker came before we discovered steemit. I (Norma) had always wanted to create travel content as I travelled quite a fair bit, and wanted to share my experiences so that others would be able to use that to help plan their travels. I tried a few times, with a shitty Blogspot blog, a horrible name and totally reigned in all my jokes (and personality) by taming my words. Oh and I frequently forgot to keep posting (gamed and partied too much!).

12106910_10153002739327693_646477439730626145_n.jpg

After meeting Aleks, about a year after we met (so about a year ago), we decided to reignite this dream of mine together but we struggled for at least a month or two to think of a name... Until Aleks struck gold!

Maybe it's best if he explains:

As far as my memory goes back, I always strove to be different. I don't know why, for some reason I always wanted to stand out. It started in school - even if I knew the right answer / right way to do something, if I saw that my classmates did it the same way, I would normally change things around and do work differently. Sometimes it didn't even benefit me at all, I got in trouble, but I hated just being another egg in the basket. It almost gave me anxiety. (He's not alone here!)

monkeybananajizz-2.jpg

My first ever class was Art. It was early autumn and we were tasked with drawing tree branches with leaves. I saw that people either went for bright orange or green colours, and my anxiety started kicking in. How am I supposed to draw a branch with leaves if all the main colours are taken ? Fuck it, I just drew every leaf as a combination of different colours. And the branch itself was blue, because fuck you standardisation, I wanted my creativity to flow.

When we were starting Buttpacker - we had no clue what to call ourselves. We filmed our first few episodes not knowing what name to promote, as we had some options but there wasn't THAT SPECIAL ONE. There are thousands of travel bloggers / vloggers / content creators. We analysed the different variations of their names and 99% included words like "wanderlust", "vagabond" , "gypsy", "nomad" with descriptions such as "omg I'm so travel addicted, watch me travel around the world and drool", "travel is in my blood", etc. The anxiety started kicking in.

nipple (1 of 1).jpg

We didn't want to be just another travel vlog, "addicted to travel" and "omg my mum almost named me gypsy cos she knew my blog would be called GypsyWanderlustTravelingNomad.com".

WE HAD TO BE DIFFERENT! We sat down thinking what is that one thing that unites us, drives us and gives us energy? What are we basically ?

anal (1 of 1).jpg

The answer was quite simple, we love fucking around. We don't take things seriously most of the time, and we love to laugh, either at something or ourselves. And we use a lot of dirty humour. Involuntarily.

whodafook.jpg

That's how Buttpacker was born, a representation of freedom, good vibes, humour, DIRTY humour, and basically just us. Oh yeah and travel of course (backpacker - back + butt = Buttpacker).

In short, we found a direct representation of us! We would never change it for the world. Once we got the Buttpack part in our minds, we were hooked. We just spent some time deciding between Buttpack or Buttpacker(s).

Our vision for Buttpacker : We hope to establish ourselves within the travel community on steemit and gift our unique content to all our followers and followers to be, so make sure you FOKIN' SMASH those "upvotes" and "follow" buttons whenever you see our content ;) Obviously the more motivated we are - the more content there will be ! Oh and Norma is about to embark on a 5 month journey around the world, so lots of travel content to cum!

We'd like to nominate @redrica, @runicar, @flaneuse, @nanzo-scoop (whatchu scoopin Nanzo?! WE WANNA KNOW!) and @yallapapi.

BONUS : Anyone who guesses the original of this song will win..erm...some of that super exclusive Buttcoin! (Send us SBD/STEEM to take part in the presale - I'm telling ya, this is gonna be the next BIG THING!)

We’ve got booties and boobies a plenty!

We’ve got travelspiration galoreeeee.

You want big butts?

I’ve got twenty!

But who cares?

No big deal

I WANT MOREEEEEEEEEE

Sort:  

Girl where you travellin' to?? I wanna be.. PART OF YOUR WORLD!

Great post, haha 🙏🏻 I'm sure a lot of people have been wondering all this time!

😂😂😂 you already are girl, but please continue to be!

Yup, mystery solved!

I misses the notification fron Gina on this. Sounds like you two are made for one another. Did you guys do a "where have you been all my life" when you first met 😉

No worries, so did we originally! :P
Hahaha maybe after a few weeks when we realised how similar we were, yeah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27