Steemitsandwichcontest #44 Chocolate Chili Black Bean Stuffed Chickpea Flour Crepe

in #steemitsandwhichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to #steemitsandwichcontest #44 thanks to @jaybird

chick18.jpg

I didn't participate last week. I was stumped with the theme. I have no significant cultural thing going on really but I am going to hang out with all of you sandwich masters this week.

We got hired to work at a restaurant and the other day we were scheduled to go. When we got there the restaurant was far from open due to electricity problems. We were given a tour and sat in on a waiter meeting Today we will go to taste food which is good because it difficult to make food in my in law house most of the time.

Yesterday I took everything outside to not disturb the peace. I have a portable burner and there is a barbecue. So since I couldn't make bread, I made a chickpea flour crepe and stuffed it.

I wanted to have the flavors resemble one of my favorite foods which is Mole. I first had Mole in Mexico years ago and this version was red. It comes in red and green. The red one has chocolate in it. This was strange to hear before I ate it but the chocolate and the spices blend together to create a delicious taste. At the time I ate it with chicken. I made tofu instead of chicken.

I did not make an actual mole sauce but I added some similar ingredients along with black beans sweet potato and spices.

I started by making the chickpea flour crepes with chickpea flour, water and baking powder and salt.

chick.jpg

It was nice and thin and surprisingly easy to flip.

chick1.jpg

I sauteed onion, garlic, cilantro, and chili peppers.

chick8.jpg

I added a spice mix of chili powder, cinnamon, cloves, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, cayenne, thyme and oregano.

chick7.jpg

chick8.jpg

I had already grilled some sweet potatoes and added them then broke them up in the pan.

chick9.jpg

Then the chocolate which was dark.

chick3.jpg

I added vegetable soup broth and cooked the mixture down until it was thick and most of the moisture was evaporated.

chick4.jpg

The tofu had been marinated in salt olive oil lemon, pepper, and onion powder for several hours, then grilled.

chick6.jpg

Then the crepe was stuffed starting with the bean mixture and the tofu.

chick12.jpg

I added some tomatoes, red cabbage, onions and pumpkin seeds.

chick11.jpg

I also added avocado. I almost forgot an important Mexican ingredient.

chick16.jpg

chick10.jpg

I put some potatoes on the side with some of the mixture on top since there was some left in the pan.

chick14.jpg

We put it on the grill for a few minutes before we ate it just to make sure it was hot.

chick17.jpg

It was really stuffed but since it was gluten free it wasn't extremely filling so with the potatoes on the side it was perfect.

chick 18.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Love these sandwiches @carolynstahl always a delight

Great job this looks fantastic!! :) Clear instructions, sweet crepes are usually my thing, but maybe I will try this out! haha :)

If I had never tried Mole sauce in Mexico that has chocolate in it, I never would have thought that this combination could be so tasty.
Thanks so much I hope you try it sometime.

Yeah I definitely need to try it some time, looks so tasty!! :) Thanks again for sharing! :)

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

I thought you start work next week? I am really happy that you are still blogging! Was kinda sad thinking you would not have the time or energy to write these amazing post!

That almost mol sauce has so many interesting flavour combo!! So much thing about Mexican cuisine that I never knew, glade u are here to introduce it to me:)

Love your bravery of adding the dark chocolate, many people are afraid to do that( thinking it's only for dessert). But you seem to understand what does the dark chocolate contributes to the dish.

Personally I never used dark chocolate in my savoury dish, but I guess it's good for thickening the sauce as well as adding a deep roasted flavour m smoothness and richness

Wonderful dish queen of vibrant plating!

I just noticed that I read your message and wrote a response already but forgot to hit the post button because it's not here. oops.
Thank you Alan it really tastes good to combine these flavors.

No worries :)

Wow, thought this was a taco at first lol.

stuffed chickpea flour crepe, sounds more artisan and... like french cuisine.

That dark chocolate add was interesting!

Thanks @jaybird! It sounds stranger than it tasted haha.

Really beautiful! I love this recipe using crepes. I haven't thought of doing this, wonderful idea. You always give me such great ideas! I hope you get everything straightened out with the restaurant, thats crazy! Good luck with the contest!

Thanks so much @birdsinparadise. Your words mean so much to me! We are a little frustrated with the restaurant not being open yet, but they are really nice so I am hoping for a good experience. We will go there tomorrow.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-10T14:04:12
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 346.48/400.00
Total Photos: 46
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

My friend how are you? I know that you manage to cook as you live with your mother-in-law. It is really to admire how you solve with what you have at hand and create great dishes like this

Oh hello amiga! Thank you for your words. I have a difficult time but in a month or two we will be in our own place and will appreciate things so much more. Have a nice day my friend!

This will be your friend soon you can enjoy living alone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17