Steemit sandwich contest week 41: a boat of vegetables

greetings my fellow steemit readers,
It's been awhile seen I have used bread in my entry for the ssc. it's not that I am against it but, it's more like I believe that there are so many ways we can make other ingredients into a delicious sandwich without using bread. Since I have a large amount of vegetables in my refrigerator, I thought that I could make more vegetarian sandwich to clear off the leftover vegetable before it goes bad. As I mention before, I believe that a sandwich don't have to include bread to be delicious and also since I am trying to use all the vegetable before it goes bad, I thought to my self "hey why not I make the vegetable as the bread element and top it with whole lots of vege!" And I came up with this

I present to you: vegetable boat full of vegetables

Smoked oat battered fried zucchini; lotus chips; bbq zucchini; steamed carrots; smoked roasted cauliflower mousse; spicy tomato sauce
image.jpeg

what's inside

Smoked oat battered fried zucchini; lotus chips; bbq zucchini; steamed carrots; smoked roasted cauliflower mousse; spicy tomato sauce; Spring onion
image.jpeg

Smoked oat battered fried zucchini:

I am a big fan of smoking stuff, I believe it enhances the savoury element of a element. As we all who, many people don't eat as much vege as they eat meat mostly because it lacks of the meaty flavour. Knowing that smoking ingredient can boost the meaty flavour, so why not just smoke the vege. In this case I smoked the long slice of zucchini before battering it with oat and frying it. I love using oat as a batter mostly because of its nutty flavour which in my opinion compliment a smoky flavour well.

lotus chips:

my mom would usually cook her Chinese soup every weekend with lotus roots, red dates, lotus seeds, barley, and mushrooms. She claims it's the world healthiest soup. No doubt I agree it's healthy, but at the end of the meal there is whole lot of the vegetable used to cook the soup left in the pot ready to be discarded. It's rather tasteless as the vegetable have give all its flavour and nutrition to the liquid part of the soup. However, I believe that there is still used for it, thus I have collected them and used it as a texture element... A crispy element. I simply baked it in a oven with convection until it's crispy and dried. It works well as a snack by its own too.

bbq zucchini:

instead of using it only for the bread part, I decided the grilled some up to make it as a filling as well. I grilled it with some olive oil and salt until charred on one side.

steamed carrots:

when carrot are well cook it sweet , flavourful, and gives out a cheerful colour. I simply steam it until soft but still holds its shape and then sautéed in a pan.

smoked cauliflower mouse:

Like I said I love smoking stuff. I first baked the cauliflower to intensify its flavour only then I smoked it. When there is a good punch of hickory flavour, I then purée it and mix with whipped soy cream.

spicy tomato sauce:

This sauce covers all the important taste, sweet, sour, salty, and spicy. The saltiness come from the preserved chille I used, sweetness comes from honey, sourness comes from the tomato. This sauce is made by puréeing all the ingredients, then extracting it's juice by squeezing the purée though a muslin cloth. Lastly it's thicken with corn starch.

Spring onion:

Mainly for colour !

how did it come together

1. Start with the smoked oat battered zucchini

image.jpeg

2. Pipe smoked cauliflower mousse

image.jpeg

3. Add carrots and bbq zucchini

image.jpeg

4. Add lotus chips and spicy tomato sauce

image.jpeg

and lastly garnish with spring onions, WALLA

image.jpeg

That's all I have for now, hope all of you enjoyed it.
Like always feel free to leave a comment below, cheers!!

Sort:  

That is simply outstanding @alansthoughs. The smoked oats are super creative and and I like all the different techniques you used to cook all the vegetables for a contrast in flavors and textures. Did you use a smoking gun to get the smoky flavors?

Haha thanks, nope I wish I have a smoke gun but it's too expensive.

jeezus lol. This it incredible!

Smoked oat battered fried zucchini, lotus chips..... smoked roasted cauliflower mousse. oh lord....

What an interesting creation and combo of flavours. I lvoe how you move from one extreme to the other each week. From Monster Meats to Monster Veggies :)

Hahaha, I had too much vege in the refrigerator, you can freeze meat but you can't freeze vege :D

This really is a masterpiece. I love it so much. The smoked zucchini, the awesome veg and colors. And the LOTUS CHIPS!!!!!!

You make it sound like a million dollar dish...haha, but really appreciate that! Vegetarian friendly?

Vegan friendly. I want some right now!

I’ll ship it to you when I am a million air :)

Totally agree @carolynstahl, it's fabulous!

Oh wow what a wonderful creation.Absoloutely love it.I really like zuchini.I like the fact you like to smoke alot of your ingredients, it gives such a rich and smoky taste.looks visually so stunning to the eye.The mousse looks scrummy 👍

Thanks for all your wonderful compliments :)

Excelente una obra de arte en la cocina vegetariana,felicitaciones

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Oh wow @alansthoughs, what a beautiful and delicious sounding sandwich, awesome stuff!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-17T10:39:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 253.50/200.00
Total Photos: 39
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Love your sandwich boat ...incredible :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85