Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #100 | Hot and Tropical! Cherry Smoked Salmon

DSC_0051 (2).jpg

Wow! 100 weeks! Amazing @jaybird!

DSC_0016 (2).jpg


We have much to celebrate this week thanks to our chief Sandwich-maker @jaybird and his Steemit Sandwich contest. He has much to be proud of! The Steemit Sandwich contest was the first contest I joined on the Steemit platform. @jaybird was always so encouraging, cheerful and supportive and it was truly appreciated. Unfortunately this is to be our last week of sandwiches….perhaps we will all meet again? If so I know many of us will certainly be ready!


Thanks @jaybird! It’s been a great ride on a big wave!


We’re left to make our final sandwich on our deserted Island and lucky for us, the fish and pineapple are plentiful! I know how much our sandwich king loves Salmon so I wanted to fire up the smoker one last time! It’s hot on this island, so this salmon will be packing some heat! Cherry style!


Let's Go Fishin!


shore fishing.jpg

photo thanks to pixabay


The Catch

  • Fresh Atlantic Salmon
  • Fresh Pineapple
  • The Heat Rub
  • Red Onion
  • Fresh Avocado
  • Fresh Tomato
  • A touch of Mayo
  • Sprinkle of Feta
  • Stowaway Ciabatta Roll

Pack on the heat…


Nothing like spicy smoked salmon on a hot Tropical day!
Smoke it up for about 5 hours! Sending those sandwich smoke signals!
DSC_0003 (2).jpg

While the smoke is hot…


slice up that beautiful pineapple! We’ll be grillin’ pineapple soon. Grillin’ brings out the rich sweet tropical taste.
DSC_0014 (2).jpg

Chop and slice…


The onion, avocado and tomatoes! A few shakes of the pepper on those tomatoes and we’re good to go.
DSC_0024 (2).jpg

The salmon is singing! Anybody hungry?


DSC_0021 (2c).jpg


Toast that last ciabatta roll, grill the pineapple and let’s enjoy! A little mayo, then salmon, pineapple topped with avocado, tomatoes, onion and a sprinkle of Feta! Whew!


Cheers my friends! 100 great weeks of the Steemit Sandwich Contest!


DSC_0078 (2).jpg

All thanks to you @jaybird! We hope to see you again!

DSC_0055 (2).jpg


I must say it was sad to make my final Steemit Sandwich Contest Sandwich. A big farewell @jaybird and my fellow sandwich elves! We’ve had so much fun, ( and lots of laughs) and made enough sandwiches to circle the globe, lol For those of us who love to cook, we've learned so much from each other! I will certainly miss our weekly creative meet-ups! Best wishes to you all, until we meet again!


And as always, blessings to you all

loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

What a wonderful ode to 100 weeks of sandwiches Mrs Bird! I just love everything about this post - gorgeous ingredients on my favourite ciabatta plus the quirky 100 grilled pineapple, you've really done justice to SSC!
I cannot agree more with you - going to miss seeing all the crazy sandwiches and our sandwiteers as well!
We're down the coast with a couple of friends, last time for a while, so it's been quite crazy plus limited internet therefore my late response. See you on the Steemengine and FAVM although I had to skip the latter this week!

Oh my, we must still stay in touch!!!! You have become a dear friend, and we have so much fun together sharing our crazy creations :) Enjoy your time with friends, I know you work so hard you deserve a little bit of R&R! We have had a wonderful run with SSC, will miss everyone and the humorous banter, not to mention the sandwich fun! Thank you for your sweet comment, you know it means a lot! Keep steemin my friend! :)

100 weeks is quite an achievement I have seen many entries over that time a shame it’s coming to an end
Ohh I loved grilled pineapple and that sandwich looks great

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

I know 100 weeks, crazy right? So sad this is the last week, I'll miss this crazy bunch of sandwich makers! I'm so glad you liked it, grilled pineapple is definitely worth your time and effort :)

it is sad that it is finishing although I neve posted in it I loved seeing all the posts ;)

Wow! A hundred weeks! And what a way to celebrate! Cherry smoked salmon sandwich. I've never heard of such a feast, but just looking at this is driving my eyes crazy. Wait a minute! No more sandwiches? Say it say it isn't so!

I do agree with you that after the fishing rubbing is done growing up the pineapple brings out the best in many things! Onion avocado and tomatoes! You really know how to do a person in, especially when you I will help him to sing that song!

Absolutely amazing ending to a great contest. Although having never posted I can tell you that I never left your post without wanting to put together my own sandwich it. It's been a wonderful ride and the creativity has been above and beyond my expectations of what a sandwich really was. So thank you thank you thank you and best wishes to all of you!

Upped and steemed

!tip

Aww, you are simply incredible @dswigle, I am speechless. This contest has been so fun, I'm equally as glad you have enjoyed it, wish you would have jumped in! I'm sure you have quite a few amazing goodies up your sleeve :) Definitely sad to see it go, we have had such a fun time challenging one another to constantly out create one another. I'll certainly miss my fellow sandwich elves! The sense of humor which @jaybird has brought to the table has been infections, definitely ups the bar for all of us. Thank you, thank you again, I'm so glad you enjoy this little number, it was definitely more than a meal, lol We love smoking foods and being able to share it with you is an added plus :) Blessings to you my sweet friend!

Holy Crap! That's quite the smoked Salmon! I strongly Approve!

This one's pretty epic, eating in style on your desert island :)

Yay! I'm so glad you liked it @jaybird! Thank you for all of your hard work and effort hosting and sponsoring this fun community initiative. It has been a blast, and will be truly missed by many :) You're the best!

74D4BFCE-6207-490C-916F-0C88ADB51AFC.jpeg

lol, I'm so sorry sweet kitty! @foodfightfriday! A great giggle for first thing in the morning! Thank you!!!!

What a sandwich. With those onions, you are just showing off! Looks delicious indeed.

Why does it have to end?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, so glad you liked it! Btw...those onions were tough to twirl, thought you would like it, an added bonus, lol We're sad to see the contest end, @jaybird has put years into this weekly contest and I'm sure he needs a break! :) He's brought so much fun and creativity to this group, perhaps there will be a revival in the future? We're hoping so! Thanks @zekepickleman!

Amazing! This sandwich is so gorgeous looking!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it @justatouchfey! It was definitely more than a meal, lol Fun to create with this group of Sandwich elves, we're certainly sad to see the end of a great run. Perhaps there will be a revival at some point! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared! Truly appreciate the curation :)

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: July 6 2019 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Anyone Can Be Pretty In Pink Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20