Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 61 | Hoosier Tenderloin on Sesame Cauliflower Flatbread

DSC_0166 (2).jpg

Good day my Steemian Sandwich Creators! I hope you brought your appetites with you!

It’s another Royal Rumble Week of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest!


Yep, week 61 in fact! As usual the King of Sandwiches, @jaybird has challenged us to step up our game! He sets the bar pretty high each week; we sincerely thank him for hosting this contest! This week his theme is ....drum-roll


Anything but boring white bread!


Okay, so this was a real brain strain….last week I used pumpernickel bread, I’ve used ciabatta and wraps, hmm

There was still one sandwich “bread” I hadn’t shared…..


todaysjourney.jpg

Hoosier Tenderloin on Sesame Cauliflower Flatbread


I was born in Indiana, known by some as the Hoosier State. Tenderloin sandwiches whether grilled or fried are quite popular. I used to visit a popular restaurant known for serving amazing Tenderloin sandwiches. Their dill pickles were so awesome!


I’ll be serving this tenderloin today along with a tasty flatbread made with Cauliflower!

Yessiree, a sandwich bread which is grain free! Gluten free! Sub the eggs for chia or flax eggs and they're vegan too!


Cauliflower Bread

  • Head of Fresh Cauliflower (riced)
  • Eggs
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Almond flour
  • Coconut flour
  • White Sesame Seeds

I made the bread first! Wash and divide the cauliflower into florets and placing them into my tried and true food processor. (40 years young but keeps on kickin!) Pulse the cauli until it resembles rice!


DSC_0060 (2).jpg


Combine the rice with the remaining ingredients (except the sesame seeds).

DSC_0069 (2).jpg


Form into patties and place on a parchment lined baking sheet or pour into a muffin tin. Sprinkle the tops with sesame seeds. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. You know until the tops are golden brown. They're kind of cute aren’t they?


DSC_0135 (2).jpg

Now the Hoosier shows up!


Breaded Tenderloin

  • Pork Tenderloin
  • Gluten Free Panko
  • Gluten Free flour
  • Almond Milk
  • Peanut Oil
  • Salt/Pepper
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Fresh Spinach
  • Fresh Tomato
  • Red Onion
  • Sriracha Mayo
  • Wicked Pickles

I began by slicing the Tenderloin in 3” slices, then butterflying each slice, placing the butterfly between saran wrap and pounding the tenderloin until it was about ¼” thick….really thin! If you’ve had a bad day you will love this part!


Now we dip the tenderloin in the Almond Milk, then into the flour seasoned with cayenne, salt and pepper. Back into the milk and then in the Panko. Really cover these guys!

DSC_0148 (2).jpg


Fry them in Peanut Oil (about 3 minutes each side), drain well on paper toweling and it was time to assemble!


A little mayo topped with spinach and onion, add the tenderloin, of course pickles and top with more mayo (yes) and tomato! Top it with Sesame Cauliflower Flatbread!

DSC_0150 (2).jpg

And another…. Just for @jaybird! And don't forget the pickles! Enjoy!

DSC_0180 (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping in my Sandwich loving friends! Another fun filled week of sandwichery goodness!
And as always blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Oh yummm @birdsinparadise, how I would have loved to taste this sandwich, I've made cauliflower pizza base and really enjoyed it, can just imagine the taste of this one! Plus the blast from the past sounds absolutely delicious! Good luck :)

Thank you dear friend :) We could really feed the TSE passengers with these goodies this week right? lol So fun. Yes, this is nice as a flatbread too. I really need to try the pizza base as well, glad you mentioned that. Good luck to you as well!

I did not know Indiana was known as the Hoosier State. The breading on the tenderloin looks so crunchy and the cauliflower bun looks so fluffy, I just want to bite into your sandwich. I am a sucker for pickles and the juicy tomato, I just ate dinner, but I really want a taste of your sandwich! Good luck!

lol you are so kind! Although I can't imagine you are hungry after that wonderful sandwich you submitted to SSC :) Pickles are a very important player in the sandwich...love them as well

I don't like fresh cucumbers so much, but I do love pickles! Being that I live alone I don't do much cooking these days but that does sound like a recipe that would be fun to try.

I know, good pickles are so important lol I do cook quite a bit, so it's fun to experiment. :) Thank you!

This looks AMAZING! So Unique! Love that you included a Hoosier favorite from your past, but more like your modern cooking style (def one for the recipe book ;) ❤️

Awww, thanks so much! I know, a true Hoosier favorite, I had to share :) Perhaps one for the book as well lol ox

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 276 (10/09/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine! I really love this community! It has been so fun getting to know my fellow TSE passengers! :)

Woe, love the cauli-bread. Very distinctive choice! The almonds must have addded a great flavour too.

Sweet list of ingredients for the tenderloins as well. Especially using the gluten free stuff :) no boring white bread ingredients right!?

I also enjoyed the heritage moment of this entry lol.

Nice step by step and pres is very good. Everything is put togrther top notch.

All in all pretty bomb!

Thankee @jaybird! You said no boring bread....we all tried to deliver! Love your sense of humor! :)

Your posts always make me so hungry!! ♥

hehe, I guess that could be good or bad right? Thanks for stopping by @squishysquid!

What an an interesting recipe! Very original. I would love to have a taste!

It was so refreshing @melinda010100! I am a big cucumber fan and this was a great new salad idea. I hope you get a chance to try it :) Thanks for the kind words

What a spectacular looking sandwich!! And I love anything cauliflower, so this is one I gotta try :) Thank you for sharing it here!!

Thank you so much @lynncoyle1! Let me know what you think when you try it! It was very light! If you aren't a nutritional yeast fan you could sub out for fresh parmesan cheese :) I appreciate your sweet words!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you @C-squared. Appreciate being featured!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33