Steemitsandwichcontests Week #41 Sloppy Josefina With Onion Fries

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #steemitsandwichcontest week #41 by @jaybird

chor.jpg
linee.jpg

This is my vegan version of a sloppy Joe. I remember having them way back in the day and they were usually made by some friend that had the munchies and needed something fast so they usually cooked some ground meat and added tomato sauce and seasonings than slopped it on the bread.

I remember sometimes being so lazy that I would just throw some left over spaghetti sauce with meat in it, on some bread and that was the sloppy Joe. I don't eat meat anymore but I remember, that as homely as the sandwich may have been, I really loved it.

Today I will call my vegan version The Sloppy Josefina. She may be a slob but she sometimes likes to get dressed up. This version has a Mexican twist which was made with mushrooms, veggie ground round and chorizo spice. There are different variations of this spice but I chose some basic ones that really got the job done.

The blend of spices, included chili powder, crushed chili, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, oregano, thyme, ground cloves, salt and pepper.

It was added to a pan of sauteing onions, garlic, chopped mushrooms and veggie ground round.

chor4.jpg

chor5.jpg

Then I added some tomato puree and a little wine.

cho6.jpg

chor6.jpg

For an extra topping since this had a Mexican twist, I made a fresh Salsa Mexicana. This is usually made with tomatoes, lime juice, garlic, onion, jalapeno and cilantro. I couldn't find jalapenos in my neighborhood. I had to opt for a different hot pepper. I was quite satisfied. I really love my hot food to hurt a bit.

chor8.jpg

I decided to go all out and do some frying even though I really stay away from fried foods. I was extra hungry by the time the folks of the house went out and left me to the kitchen so I thought I would cheat a little and have some crispy onion fries.

I just coated them in a flour mixture with flour, water, baking soda, salt and pepper.

chor7.jpg

Then the sandwich was started with a slather of vegan mayo.

chor9.jpg

The chorizo spiced mixture.

chor10.jpg

The salsa.

chor11.jpg

And it wouldn't have been complete without some avocado.

chor12.jpg

chor2.jpg

The Soppy Josefina Filling On Whole Wheat Sub Buns


Vegan mayo
Mixture with mushrooms, vegan ground round, onion, garlic, chorizo spice mix
Salsa with tomato, hot pepper, cilantro, lime juice, garlic, onion, salt
Avocado
Shredded romaine lettuce

chor1.jpg

chor3.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Sloppy Josephina, hahaha, love the name!! Delicious looking sandwich!

Another great sandwich @carolynstahl, looks delicious!

Thanks so much for that compliment @lizelle!

That looks delicious @ carolynstahl. I like the chorizo spice in the mushrooms and the creamy avocado along with the spicy tomato salsa, all winning combinations.

Thanks @loveself, I am one spiceaholic haha!

Oh, this looks very tasty! I can imagine how good the house smelled while you were cooking yum! Well done, beautiful dinner!

Aww thats so nice! But if the folk were there for the smell there would have been some choking haha! Thanks @birdsinparadise!

haha The Sloppy Josefina...although she doesn't look too sloppy to me!

Excellent ingredients list, full of great spices and seasonings.

Looks awesome as usual! And Hey you remembered to post ur entry ;)

Honestly it looks really like sloppy joe! But don't take my word for it , I never had it before hahaha

The true sloppy Joe is pure ground meat, with usually spices and tomato sauce. This is actually similar except I turned it into a vegan Mexican thing.

You could blow your own version of it out of the water!

Haha, you're giving me so many ideas, now I don't hav to crack my head for ideas!

Friend this is a sandwich show

Ha ha thank you my friend!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Magic yummy! I have to try this!!!

It's fake meat though haha!

Mushrooms are meat of woods...

That is so true thank you for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73