Vegan Scallops And Bacon Mini Sliders

This is my entry for #steemitsandwichcontest #58 thanks to @jaybird

mush8.jpg

When I used to eat seafood over three years ago, I especially loved shrimp and occasionally scallops. There were times that the scallops were too fishy or weird tasting but today I made a vegan version of a scallop using king oyster mushrooms, that is not fishy or strange tasting with a very similar texture. I have also made a faux tofu bacon. which in the non vegan world, works well together. Scallops and bacon.

I decided to make a small bun to house each scallop in order to make mini vegan scallop and bacon sliders.

The bread was made with bread flour, yeast, agave nectar and salt.

mush4.jpg

While that was baking I prepared the scallops with the king oyster mushrooms which I really have been experimenting with lately. They seem to be popping up in all of the grocery stores.

mush.jpg

I decided to coat them in some precooked corn flour which I had left from making arepas, and before coating them in corn flour, I dipped them in a cornstarch and water paste.

mush1.jpg

I find that coconut oil gives them a buttery flavor so that is what I used to fry them.

mush2.jpg

To make the tofu bacon, I sliced firm tofu thinly, then marinated them in tamari, garlic powder, onion powder, maple syrup. liquid smoke salt and pepper. The key is to make sure it's salty enough because tofu doesn't absorb that easily. After marinating for at least half an hour, I added them to a pan and cooked out the liquid until the pieces were nice and brown.

mush9.jpg

I also caramelized some onions to add on top by sauteing them in a pan of olive oil than adding some balsamic and agave nectar and cooked it down.

mush10.jpg

The sliders were assembled starting with a vegan mayo which I made from silken tofu, olive oil ,dijon mustard, garlic powder onion powder, salt and pepper.

mush11.jpg

The tofu bacon was a very satisfying version of the real thing. The mushroom scallops could almost fool an average eater.

mush12.jpg

mush5.jpg

mush6.jpg

mush7.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Wow @carolynstahl, this looks absolutely amazing! I'm going to have to look to more vegan options as my cholesterol is a tad too high and definitely won't feel deprived if I have one if these!

Thanks @lizelle! They are so great to cook with and I'm sure you could come up with some interesting ideas.

Oooh, nice! I would love a few of those! I bet that tofu is awesome, and though I never used to like scallops I can definitely get behind the 'shrooms!

Thanks! I love that it's not fishy.

Oh my, this looks wonderful@carolynstahl! Love the mini sliders...just right :) I'll needd to look for those mushrooms!

Thanks @birdsinparadise! I am seeing these mushrooms everywhere these days. They are interesting to work with.

Shudang! you make vegan food look the best!

Really dig this faux Scallops and bacon sandwich. Some very interesting tactics employed to achieve the realism too. Loe that liquid smoke ingredient too haha, it always gets me :)

Well thought out, well put together, well presented.

Thanks so much @jaybird! That liquid smoke....shudang haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97