Steemit sandwich contest #58 : Buckwheat galette with cheesy mushrooms (vegan + gluten-free)

HKM_1582.JPG

It's been a while since I made a sandwich worthy of entering into the steemit sandwich contest, but I feel this one is adequate- a pretty little galette (pimped up name for a pancake basically!) with some extremely cheesy mushrooms (always a winner).

HKM_1578.JPG

Galettes are usually buckwheat-based pancakes that are accompanied by savoury fillings, with the charming name established by the French- I mean where else would a sexy food title originate from?! Best enjoyed with a glass of wine (in my opinion!).

HKM_1595.JPG

Such a simple yet effective meal and quick to rustle up if you have guests, though the longest step applies to soaking cashews overnight, which obviously requires zero effort, perfect!

HKM_1598.JPG

So to make these, bang out some crepes by making a simple batter by first mixing 1tsp lemon juice with 300ml soya milk. When it curdles, whisk into 100g buckwheat flour. Add a pinch of salt and lightly fry until golden brown on both sides.

HKM_1580.JPG

For the filling, in a blender, blitz cashews soaked overnight, yeast flakes, soya milk, fermented tofu, garlic powder, mustard and salt to taste.
In a pan, lightly fry mushrooms and garlic then stir in the cheese sauce.

HKM_1605.JPG

Pour into the galette then fold over the edges and tuck right in, yum!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-15T06:35:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 110.50/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

If that is a sandwich that is the Mercedes Benz of sandwiches, she's gorgeous, almost a shame to just want to stuff it in my face

Haha, what a compliment. I will definitely not forget the day my food was referred to as the Benz of sandwiches! Thank you :-)

Lol anytime 😉

that sarmie we call it that in South Africa is no grilled cheese! It looks like it comes with all the bells and whistles!

I hope you win, you have my support!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks delicious as always!

Thank you so much ft :-) As you can see, my input on steemit has been seriously lacking since I've been busy with some other projects so I think my articles will be rather sparse from now on, but when life is a little less hectic, I will definitely up my game!

Hehe no problem! Hope your other projects are going well :)

Very nice sandwich @foodflaneur, great seeing you're back again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09