Steemit Sandwich Contest week #40 - Baked Egg & Ham Bun

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

So here we are in Week #40 of Steemit Sandwich Contest, @jaybird, you're into the naughty forties now :)
Wow and are the sandwiches getting interesting!
But I'm still missing @steemit-foodie's sandwich creations - for those who don't know this fabulous steemian, check out her post when she hit 100 sandwich mark. @steemit-foodie currently is on maternity leave with a real bun in her oven :)
But back to week #40 - I just love smoked ham & eggs, and wondered how I could incorporate it into a sandwich with a difference, so good old faithful mama google came in to help me again.
We all know how to make fried eggs, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, poached eggs and even an omelette, but how many of us have made baked eggs?
Well, I've tried baking them in an open muffin pan with all sorts of nice breakfast goodies, but the eggs were either too soft or too dry.
So how about baking an egg in a bread bun?
IMG_20180513_201504.jpg

The ingredients required:
IMG_20180513_171345.jpg
I managed to buy a beautiful large Sesame Seed Bun from a local bakery plus real nice Smoked Ham, Cheddar Cheese, Spring Onions & Parsley plus 2 eggs that did not know they were going to be buried and baked inside a bread bun :)

I cut a lid off the top of the bun, then hollowed the bun out.
IMG_20180513_171737.jpg

Lined the bun with beautiful shaved Smoked Ham and chopped Spring Onions.
IMG_20180513_172233.jpg

This was a large Bun so I needed to use 2 Eggs to fill it, added some finely diced Parsley and seasoned it with my favourite seasoning.
IMG_20180513_172549.jpg

A generous amount of grated Cheese on top plus extra Parsley.
IMG_20180513_172737.jpg

All this was covered with the bun lid.
IMG_20180513_172803.jpg

Wrap in heavy duty foil and baked in 170 C fan oven for about 30 minutes. (Check from about 20 min if using only one egg.)
IMG_20180513_172917.jpg

Beautifully baked Egg & Ham bun just in time for Brunch.
IMG_20180513_201557.jpg

Cut into quarters, egg slightly set as I like it, hubby's was cooked a shorter time for a runny egg.
IMG_20180513_204300_1.jpg

The whole process sped up for all you busy steemians!
IMG_20180513_171345-ANIMATION.gif


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by, please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Yes! Loving all the sandwiches. That breakfast sandwich looks great. I have been thinking about making a recipe video that is similar to this. Great minds think alike! Looks absolutely delicious.

Haha @tesscooks4u, your cooking's in another league, thank you for the compliment! It was real nice, but I will only add one egg next time as it took too long to cook two inside that bun, would love to see your video. You may be interested in @foodandart's #myturn where we can recreate steemit dishes/recipes. Thanks for stopping by :)

OHHH You made me hungry and it's 00:20 here :D :D My mom used to make me these while I was a kid and now you reminded me and thanks a lot for that! I know in next few days I am making it, I totally forgot about this!!!

Great post!!!

Thank you @whack.science, it seems to be an old time favourite with a number of steemians!

oh wow this looks really delicious!
I actually tried bakes eggs with avocado inatead of buns as I try to reduce as much carbs as possible (although this never suceeds when I am home with my parents haha)

This is definitely something to look into when I have more time.

Just wondered what will it happen in an air fryer or a wok that serves like an oven?

That would be interesting @littlenewthings, can't see why it would not work. Let me know if you try that...yep those tempting carbs hey!
I've never cooked avocado, does the texture & taste change when cooked?

That looks cool and delicious @lizelle. can you use tuna or chicken instead of ham? would love to try it. well done.

Sure it will work with anything, could even try placing fried onions & any veg like corn or mushrooms, but only use 1 egg, took too long to bake. Thanks for stopping by @artywink, so nice seeing you again :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #137 (5/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so very much @thesteemengine, much appreciated, hope the passengers enjoyed the bun ;)

Looks like it turned out pretty good eh!?

Btw...funny that you should mention @steemit-foodie this week. As long as her baby doesn't pop out before Tuesday afternoon she'll be guest judging this week :)

Wow that's great @jaybird, she's missing SSC, so nice to bring her on as a guest judge:)

Well she told me she was bored so... I'm just capitalizing on that haha.
I'll be glad to see her entries again tho this year! For now... we have @alansthough... he's like the new @steemit-foodie in a lot of ways lol

For sure, he's amazing! I actually wondered if @alansthoughs is not perhaps @steemit-foodie in disguise :):)

This looks really yummy and I'm sure using that nice sesame seed roll just made this taste even more fantastic. I love sesame seed rolls and really feel that they add so much extra flavor.

I also looove sesame seed rolls, it was such an easy way to make breakfast/ brunch but next time I'll only use one egg, took too long to cook the two eggs! Thank you for your support always Jusi :)

What a lovely idea. Looks great and definitely another one to add to the book!

Thanks @therneau, was super easy too!

My friend how are you, every week you have to create something unique and you light up with your creations, give greetings to the grandmother

So nice to see you Jenni, Mom Lily sends her best wishes to you, still hoping the situation improve in your country! Thanks for the great comments, take care of yourself :)

ohhh my garlic that's genius!!! I just want to dip that whole thing in a tub of tomato soup.

Thanks @whattheduck, it was really delicious with all the flavours caught up inside that bun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84