Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #79 - Keto Biltong & Cheese Pre Valentine Wrap

in #steemitsandwichcontest5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190207_143226_1.jpg
I can hear some of you asking What is biltong? and perhaps a couple others asking What is Keto?
I shared a Biltong sandwich here for the Super Sexy themed week #69, so take a peek if you like, but I quote from that post:

Biltong is a classic South African treat - air-cured meat that's been marinated in vinegar and spices before being placed in a biltong maker (the more popular method of air drying with little or no heat) or a dehydrator (using air circulation and heat). We also make Dry Wors (Sausage) in the same manner, absolutely yum!
Basically only the best cuts of meat is used, Beef being the most popular, but Venison and Ostrich is popular as well.
IMG_20181130_123012_1.jpg

And then I made a Minted Lamb Keto Wrap for Week #71 where I spoke a little about Keto.
Well, hubby was convinced when our son told us that he'd lost 15 kg over a three month period, says his energy levels have gone through the roof and his concentration and focus at work has soared!
Hubby started on Monday and I will be starting this weekend, had way too busy a schedule this week!
What is Keto?
Basically, it's a very low-carb, high-fat diet.
Quoted from my Week #71 post:

The Keto lifestyle is specifically designed to make the body go into Ketosis where the body is starved of carbs and burns fat for energy thus creating ketones in the body.

IMG_20190207_143259_1.jpg

Enough of that, let's get on to making this week's sandwich for @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #79
I do hope we're going to see some of your sandwiches this week, you won't be sorry as it's an awesome little community and our most esteemed judge and Manwich maker @jaybird is super awesome, has helped many a new Steemian on the road to success all through sandwiches of all things!

Ingredients
IMG_20190207_140234.jpg

  • Lettuce
  • Avocado diced
  • Red Bell Pepper diced
  • Celery diced
  • Cucumber diced
  • Biltong
  • Cheddar Cheese grated
  • Full Fat Feta & Gherkin Cream Cheese
  • Gorgeous Pomegranate

IMG_20190206_211444.jpg

I will let the photos speak for themselves, but basically use a large lettuce leaf to act as the wrap base.
IMG_20190207_141411_2.jpg

IMG_20190207_141533_1.jpg

IMG_20190207_141647.jpg

IMG_20190207_141720.jpg

IMG_20190207_141841.jpg
Almost forgot the pomegranate before enclosing all this in the lettuce wrap.
IMG_20190207_143413_1.jpg

Made a little heart out of thinly sliced cheese, don't forget it's Valentine's Day next week.
My poor little wooden heart is starting to crack ;)

IMG_20190207_142717.jpg

Filled the heart with pomegranates - proof photo
IMG_20190207_143145.jpg

Crunchy and salty and really delicious!

IMG_20190207_143226_1.jpg

And a last quick look at the making of my sandwich.
IMG_20190206_211444-ANIMATION.gif

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

You are amazing dear @lizelle! Every week you create such beautiful food. Your hubby must be in keto-heaven with this goodie! Love it :) Best wishes this week with the contest!

He's actually enjoying it so far, thank you for your kind comments my friend!

I am still trying to get use to the idea of keto but I have to pause that and get the gluten food out of the house before I join the keto run.

However while unable to do keto I try to do intermetent fasting while my elderly parents are not staying with me does help shed the pounds and condition the body not to consume too much unnecessarily.

It is kind of hard to recondition the elderly mindset as they used to live in an era when GMO and consumerism overdose hardly existed.

But yeah, I definitely will look into the biltong making so that I can keep some protein aside that can be well stored as I have a dehydrator.

Will pork and chicken be able to make dry meat? Or this is more of a read meat recipe?

upvoted

Posted using Partiko Android

My 87 yr old mother lives with us and thinks we're quite crazy, she's a firm believer in healthy eating habits, smaller more regular but balanced meals! So at the moment, I've just got hubby doing Keto, I've still not started properly, oh those carbs are too tempting plus I have a sweet tooth ;);)
People do make chicken biltong but its not as nice, beef still works the best! Enjoy and let us know if you make some. Thank you for your feedback!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 395 (02/09/19)

Thanks for explaining the diet along with wrap for serving a tasty lunch @lizelle

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

Ah thank you @joanstewart, that's a lovely surprise, really appreciate it :)

That wrap looks amazing and everything about that meal is healthy and delicious. I would not mind having that for lunch, not mind at all. You are a genius when it comes to cooking. 💚

Thank you so much @zen-art, it was very filling too and zero carbs at that!

It's amazing how quickly one can become accustomed to no bread in one's diet...........a very healthy choice. Lovely photographs Lizelle.

Thank you so much @justjoy, as long as I don't smell freshly baked bread I'm ok ;);)

No bread! You are creative lizelle :)

Thank you so much @akipponn!

Awesome... this is food for my eyes and my heart... a sure winner!

I had never heard of it before, so thanks for the explanation and that looks so good

Thank you @tattoodjay, it's just a simplified way of explaining it, I believe our friend @bigtom13 is on Keto, sure he can give loads of tips!

Most welcome and I have been reading a few posts about Keto recently, and may explore it a little more

Howdy there lizelle! wow this is very educational. I've never heard of Biltong and I didn't know that people ate ostrich meat! What does that taste like? My wife and I have been on Keto for about a year now and really feel great on it and of course any fat you have just magically falls off and stays off.
The only bad part is the Keto Flu which I didn't get but everybody else I know including my wife did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07