SteemitSandwichContest #39 - Spring Garden

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

I almost did not make it to @jaybird's fabulous Springtime Theme SteemitSandwichContest #39 as I've been away from home for almost a week, and came back to a very busy Lily's Cottage, but am I ever so glad I attempted this week's theme - Springtime, had great fun in the kitchen!

Here in South Africa we're into Autumn and having just come back from the much colder, dry climate of Johannesburg with a bad attack of sinus, I am ever so thankful that I live in the sub-tropical mild climate of Durban! So although we have severe humidity in Summer, our Winters are stunning, warm sunny days and cool nights!

But back to sandwiches - I decided to share with you my Springtime Garden!
IMG_20180507_163113.jpg

Arum Lilies, Roses, a Daisy, Cucumber flowers & even a Butterfly
I

Sort:  

Hey @lizelle, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 7th of May. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post explaining things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/tomorrow-s-whaleshares-curation-show-the-half-year-special-featuring-sirlunchthehost

Ah thank you @kotturinn, I would love to be there in the discussion but will be in faraway Dreamland by that time! Really appreciate you selecting my post, going to have good dreams of friendly whales ;);)
I really enjoyed this theme, had been away from home and was thinking of using edible flowers in a sandwich but could not find any in my garden when I got back (we're in Autumn) so thought of making flower sandwiches.
Thank you again!

You deserve it! This is amazing :) Also, I made the lemon bars. They came out different as I had a bigger pan but they were still amazing! With I will add the pic tomorrow!

Thank you @lindahas!
I also made the Lemon bars in a larger pan the first time then did a second batch in the smaller pan, everyone enjoyed both versions though!
Would love to see yours, did you add passion fruit?

31957333_977193515762864_4806441374889017344_n.jpg

Here! They did come out differently. And yes, I did use the passion fruit! That was a great addition :)

They do look different but I'm sure still tasted great especially with the passion fruit! Must be the type of flour as your base looks like it's risen slightly?
Thanks so much for sharing a pic of your Passion Lemon Bars :)

It did not rise, I think. I just took the 500 ml flour and it turned out to be a lot!

They were however, very delicious. But I think I was rushing everything for the family visit. If did it properly, it might have come out even better

Mmmm... I want one of those Lemon Bars now!

Well deserved @lizelle! They're too lovely! Remind me of the dainty little sandwiches my gran my for catering events when I was little. Those arums look almost too real to eat!

Haha @whattheduck :):) Thanks for stopping by!

Anytime!

Very impressed by your presentation, good luck in the challenge and hope you sleep amazing!

Love, love, love this! You are so creative @lizelle! I think you nailed this one! Well done! Hope you feel better!!

Thanks @birdsinparadise, feeling a lot better as well!

Lizelle, you impress me more each and every time I see your sandwich post entries. This isn't sandwiches, it is art that happened to be of a food medium.
You need to also find a art sculpting contest and enter this in over there.
Something in the back of my mind tells me that you may have had something to do with the company that has the name "Edible Arrangements".
Very nice, and best of luck in the contest.

Thanks for your encouragement mr Papper, but I've never heard of that company, will be googling them for sure! I'm just a good copycat of mrs google who gives me many ideas that I interpret my way ;)
In fact I don't like making ordinary sandwiches, way too boring :):)
Nice to be back steeming!

Check them out, mostly fruits and veggies, but neat stuff and very creative.

Just wow. You're so creative with your sandwich artistry lizelle !

Like who else is gona do something like this :)

Very awesome collection of ingredients from the fresh veggies to the smoked salmon mmmm. Great homemade qualities here to including the bread.

Love the onion stems haha and also how you crafted the flowers and what not using the veggies.

I bet the ham was a nice touch and probably produced a great interaction with the smoked salmon. I'll have to keep that in mind.

Glad to see an entry from you as always & looking forward to your thoughts on this weeks contest..whoa nelly there's a lot of entries and many good ones!

Ah thank you @jaybird, great comments from you as always. I wanted to use edible flowers but could not find any so made my own, was awesome fun, I was like a kid in the kitchen :):)
Will be in touch regarding second place but it's getting crazy with all the awesome entries, great work by you for growing SSC like this!

Np. It's easy to make them when the entries are this good ;)

And Ya, i recently had some edible flowers at an Aboriginal Resto... I love em. These ones were kind of lemony or zesty...

I saw ur steem chat. We're on the same page i think !

That is impressive. So creative! Love the tomato roses. At least this Springtime garden won't be causing any allergies.

LOL no allergies with this spring garden for sure @loveself, thanks for stopping by :)

beautiful food art ,enjoy your post

I never thought sarmies could look so pretty. I just love what you did here and my goodness you really have been so creative with this. Well done this was really clever.

Thanks @jusipassetti, have not been doing much steeming this week, but thoroughly enjoyed being back and making flower sandwiches ;)

Genade! Some epic sarmie skills you've got going there!
high-5

Oh wow, that is beautifully done! I'm really impressed. Hope your sinuses recover quickly :)

Thank you so much @therneau, the sinuses are slowly behaving again :)

Friend how are you I am delighted with your creations you really have a very beautiful creativity in the kitchen, greet grandma

Hey @jennimorrillo, hope you're well, thanks for the great comments, will tell Mom in the morning :) I just love your dessert recipes :):)

Thanks friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11