SteemitSandwichContest Week #43 - Smoked Snoek Pancake Wrap

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

My family have a long tradition of being avid anglers. I was the first to break that tradition; the reason - the very first thing I caught was a venomous sea snake! Of course I never wanted to fish after that, but also found it more interesting exploring the rocks & sand for other treasures like mussels, sea shells, surfing dudes with bulging muscles etc etc :)
Jokes aside, my job was to clean the fish if I was not too busy finding treasures. I learned how to cook the fish and absolutely love eating it!

When I was a kid, we went on annual holidays to the rugged coastline of Storm's River Mouth in the Eastern Cape, which now is a protected area. Later on the Wild Coast became our new favourite. The best fish and other seafood is still found there today.
We used to feast on seafood the entire holiday; mussels and crayfish would be cooked in big pots over the coals, fish used to be pan fried, cooked in foil over the coals, pickled, smoked and even air-dried for preservation so we could take home some of the silvery delights which somewhat stilled that longing for the sound of the waves!

So it's no wonder we cannot resist Smoked Snoek when we find it in the fish shop, salty and smoky and packed with flavour!

This fish is mainly caught on the West Coast here in South Africa. Interestingly it also is known as Snake Mackerel or Barracouta (not to be confused with Barracuda) and can grow to one metre in length.

Another family favourite is our South African pancakes - call it crepes if you like but it's not quite crepes, as they're fatter/ thicker than crepes.
I wrote a blog about pancakes some 10 months ago and looking back was quite amused to see that post earned a whopping $0,02 :)
So if you'd like to learn how to make these fluffy heavier crepes that we call pancakes, head on over to my old Pancakes Post

For SSC Week #43, I've combined both family favourites and made an absolutely delicious Smoked Snoek Pancake Wrap; for sure a new favourite with the family.
IMG_20180604_155259.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 pancakes - yep that's what we call them in South Africa
  • Smoked Snoek
  • Spring Onions
  • Rocket
  • Horseradish
  • Tartar Sauce

IMG_20180604_145030.jpg

I will show you a couple of pics of the pancake cooking.
IMG_20180604_142225.jpg
Flip when batter is almost set & nicely browned underneath
IMG_20180604_142252.jpg
Pancake ready for action

Snoek has long bones, therefore carefully debone & flake.
IMG_20180604_152050.jpg

Add finely chopped Spring Onions, Horseradish & Tartar Sauce.
IMG_20180604_152050_1.jpg

Lovely salty smoky flavours from the snoek a great blend with spring onions & the sweetish tart sauces.
IMG_20180604_152452.jpg

Place filling down centre of pancake.
IMG_20180604_152959.jpg

Top with rocket.
IMG_20180604_153317.jpg

Make a neat parcel to enclose filling.
IMG_20180604_153406.jpg

Deliciousness wrapped up inside pancake.
IMG_20180604_153723.jpg

Hubby is peeking into the kitchen again, ravenous by now!
IMG_20180604_154436.jpg

One more pic then we can eat.
IMG_20180604_154529.jpg

My faithful hand model dying to tuck in.
IMG_20180604_160100_1.jpg

This is my absolute favourite sandwich by far - have been entering since Week #19 - so guys and dolls, if you enjoy making sandwiches and earning some sweet dough, plus meeting great people, head on over to the fabulous @jaybird's blog for Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #43 and enter. Hope to see you there!
IMG_20180604_155229.jpg

A quick recap of the process.
IMG_20180604_145020-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Steem Kitchen.gif

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Your posts always make my mouth water Lizelle, even when I've just eaten lunch! That looks utterly delicious :)

It was @natubat, thanks for stopping by :)

That is a perfect lunch, never tried snoek in a pancake, you have given me ideas again @lizelle

Bare foot and beaches, way to grow up, savouring life in bite size pieces.

Thank you for your support @joanstewart, you must really try it. I've used the exact same mixture to make a pasta starter with small shell noodles, super tasty and easy as well!
We were very fortunate to have experienced those kind of holidays & weekends, the ocean's like a magnet for our family!
We must arrange a KZN steemit get together sometime :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #159 (6/8/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so very much @thesteemengine!

This fish Crape looks most excellent. It seems so perfectly crafted. Great to see something from you that is straight up food to the max. I love your corky style of course, however it's also nice to catch a glimpse at your more serious side :)

Great little childhood background for this 1 too ~

Thank you so much for your great comments @jaybird, this really is my favourite combo, reminds me of the sea and those fabulous holidays! Thank you for this theme, brought back such fond memories!

Ok @lizelle you are going to make me lose my veganity with food like this. Your pancakes look divine. I didn't know that about the milk. I wonder if it would apply to plant milk and I wonder if a flax egg would work.

Your stories paint a picture that makes me feel a certain warmth. South Africa is intriguing. I have only been to the north in Egypt. What an interesting world to discover.

Thank you for your lovely comments @carolynstahl, we do live in a wonderfully diverse country, you would love it!
You could try flax eggs and possibly plant milk will not make it rubbery. Some people even use vinegar as egg replacement.

Oh thanks I didn't know about vinegar how surprising.

If I ever win the lotto @lizelle will be my exclusive chef ! Always divine and the photographs are also great !

Haha that's a new Lotto wish @bernardtjames, thank you for the compliment & for stopping by ;)

Those pancakes look absolutely fluffy and I really enjoy all of your flavor combinations. As usual @lizelle, what a beautiful presentation and I love your story, especially about exploring for beach dudes with bulging muscles! Sounds like my idea of walking along the beach.

Haha @loveself ;)
Thank you so much for your great comments!

lovely as always @lizelle.

Thank you my friend;)

My friend how are you? How is grandma? this week the contest gave them a theme and your food is very good, it really made me hungry

Hi Jenni, mom is very well thank you. We also enjoyed this wrap, it was a lovely theme this week :)

Yup, give me some yep!! Hahaha very unique name to call a pancake!

You're so lucky to have access to such great seafood when you're young!! Having a feast on the beach will all some fresh seafood!! I admire your childhood!

Simple amazing dish!!! It's nice to know about other culture cuisine!

Thank you for your lovely comments as always @alansthoughs, really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83