Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge #63--The Rage Inside Part 2



A pound cake thief is a shoplifter.
But too big to fail
shields the man in designer boots.

He who makes the law,
shapes the outlaw.
For what is outlawed,
is outlawed by the law.

And that which is lawful made,
is made by agents delegating agency.
The controllers of law.

And what of DuPont exonerated?
No penance for tainting a child?
None the same as 35 years for an ounce of grass.

The jackass said the world a'int level
you see.
For power determines the gulf,
the gulf between the bond
and the free.


Image1,Image2

A little about me and poetry

This poem is my submission to the School Poetry 100 Day Challenge hosted by @d-pend, whom I would like to thank for sponsoring this competition. He is indeed a godsend. Though a bit dubious, I would consider myself an intermediate writer of poetry. My first love is prose, so if you get a feel of something other than verse in my poetry that is why. I use poems to assist me when I have writer’s block. This strategy, however, seems to be morphing into something more serious. At least I think so.

Thanks for reading.

Poem by: @nicholas83

Date: 5/9/18

Join the Steemit school at: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Because power determines the abyss,
the abyss between the link
and the free one.

I feel a lot of reality in this assertion. There is always something external that influences the internal

This so on point! It's inspired me to write something with 'laws' as the theme or prompt.. Thank you!

The piece itself touches on many different pressure points. We live in a truly backwards society when people are punished for choosing to partake in the cultivation and personal use of a natural plant - but walk free after committing true atrocities the likes of which none of us would ever want to see.

Things have got to change!
and I feel they are.

Keep raising the awareness my friend - You have a powerful voice and important messages to spread. Glad to have found you here as part of the 100 day challenge.

I know we are supposed to critique it but... I really feel I have no authority on how you write your poetry - As long as you keep speaking from your heart - which I can feel you are doing in your pieces - then there's nothing more I can add to it.

Just keep up the great work my friend.

Our words will change this world in the end.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet

WELL SAID

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76