Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge Day #88--After the Discontent

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)


One day, when all the leaves have fallen
And the days have become lily white
And the squirrel sifts through her acorn stock
In the hole,
in the tree,
she shelters for the nonce,
We shall once more stare toward home
Where mahogany covers the bustling bog
And blue glossy lignum vitae laugh.

We shall return to the green hills
There the willow trees sway,
And there flows the smiling crystal stream,
And toils the indefatigable ants.
We will reach for our bag of tool
And we shall shape mass into the things we sought
In those cold foreign lands,
With the passion never seen,
With a heart that never fails.


Image1,Image2

A little about me and poetry

This poem is my submission to the School Poetry 100 Day Challenge hosted by @d-pend, whom I would like to thank for sponsoring this competition. He is indeed a godsend. Though a bit dubious, I would consider myself an intermediate writer of poetry. My first love is prose, so if you get a feel of something other than verse in my poetry that is why. I use poems to assist me when I have writer’s block. This strategy, however, seems to be morphing into something more serious. At least I think so.

Thanks for reading.

Poem by: @nicholas83

Date: 6/4/18

Join the Steemit school at: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Sort:  

Sir, this poem is beautiful and sublime!

And we shall shape mass into the things we sought

In those cold foreign lands

I feel a meter and subtle rhyme, scattered here and there - just enough to come across as though the words were fated to fall there, not forced - it achieves significantly the effect that Yeats' poetry manages.

I try to write also, but it is very hard to fashion lines like these. I am so glad I followed your upvote on my recent post just to take look, or I would never have seen this.

Thanks man. Thanks for these uplifting words.

Good writing, my friend. I was worried because you had not published in days. How do you feel?

I am good. Just fatigue. And I think my writing was suffering. But thanks for your reply. As soon as I collect my thoughts I will definitely look into your stuff. You know I am a fan.

I'm glad of your improvement. Friend poet

That autumn to winter metaphor is powerful. I try the same often and fail. In one i wrote Popcorn Blessing - I dealt with just spring and fading of time, and love or something also.

Your poem is very good. It is an honour to resteem your poem!

Thanks much. I will check out your piece as soon as I collect my thoughts. I have been having a strange week.

We will reach our tool bag
and we will form the mass in the things we are looking for
in those cold strange lands,
with the passion never seen

Beautiful resurrection poem, my friend. You came back with the batteries charged. ¡Bravo!

Gracias empress.

Wah return but wondering how, ginna figure it out though. Don't get...... you know the rest LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22