WHAT IS MY NAME? |Day 93

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

image

When I sleep to understand Africa,
My Muse is of a drunken drummer
Controlled by his ancestors
And with a blade of expectation
To sharpen the sharp sand
Of our moonlight tales.

I am an Afrikan,
Breed of a musical hut,
Song of serene moan;
I am the drop of hope
Passing through veins
Into the womb of barrenness.

I am an Afrikan,
A prince dancing at a distance
Without the descent of culture;
My identity is no longer
The beats of the drum,
My voice is no longer the flute
That echoes to be a vuvuzela,
I am a tatters-of-cemented-traditions.

When I watch the hills,
Fathers have fled without our palm wines,
Mothers have breasted-away poison
Instead of identity.

What is my name?
An African child.
What is my dream?
Uncertainty.

Hit harder this drum of identity,
Don't let her waist-away her beads
Of identity to strangers;
Hit it harder because tomorrow,
We might go back to Belgian zoo.

Join us on discord

Image 1 2

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Wow your poem is filled with creativity
I'm also an African child i Love it

I Love this part the more
I am an Afrikan,
Breed of a musical hut,
Song of serene moan;
I am the drop of hope
Passing through veins
Into the womb of barrenness.

Hmm the ending phrase about the zoo do you mean going back as slaves, i really like this

Good piece friend really worth the read

'going back as slaves' I think that's what he met.

OK i figured thanks friend @kingspiration

You are welcome

Oh i didn't even notice this you should have put an African picture since its about Africa because the hand is definitely not African hmm or maybe a South African in all wonderful poetry

I have to give a standing ovation for this.
Wonderful piece of writing.
Many thanks for sharing @riahdex.
I must hold my head high and proudly proclaim that I am An African Child

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11