Alpujarra-100 Days of Poetry Challenge: Day Sixty Nine


Alpujarra


This mountain watches over us
It's majestic presence
one of beauty and pain,
At one time a home to many
fleeing from brutality and war
seeking a safe haven, a secure domain,
escaping so much violence and sure death
trying so hard to maintain
an existence that was built
on one's freedom to sustain
their choice of lifestyle,
their own free will,
self governance and a breaking of chains,
but it soon began to rain,
down from the skies
staining your sides red
with the blood of so many
who dared defy.
But still this mountain watches over us
so majestic in it's form
a reminder of how fragile freedom is
how much we have been forced to conform.

IMG_5910.JPG


Image Source:
1st Image:https://robertgraham.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/the-anarchists-in-the-spanish-revolution-1936-1939/
2nd Image:My own

Notes

I consider myself to be a intermediate poet.

I curently reside in Southern Spain , in the Alpujarras and the Mountain I talk of is one I see everyday, it is one that was used by many during the revolution as a hide out.

Thank you @d-pend for creating this challenge and allowing me to take the time daily to be creative and expressive. I am really happy to have made it this far. I have never had any input with my poetry before, it has always come straight from my heart, on to paper and more recently here on to steemit

Check out this great challenge here: https://steemit.com/steemitschool/@d-pend/announcing-the-steemit-school-poetry-100-day-challenge
Join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/q9VEn5n


resteem.png

Sort:  

Tanx truck life-family. Would really love it if you help me access my posts. I believe a good writer should open up to criticism.. Tanx one more time. I appreciate

I just gotta come visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91