Witchcraft Wednesdays - Bat Wings!

Witchcraft Wednesday.png

So in my own craft I use some....unusual, I guess you could say, ingredients. Some are just things I can get my hands on through various circumstances and others are household items that I think many in the craft don't think to use but due to my time as a closeted witch I had to get a bit creative. And now I'd like to share these things with everyone :D

text03.png

Untitled-1.png

First off, Happy Halloween to those who celebrate! For me it's the biggest witchy holiday of the year, and the lead up to it means a lot of aesthetically pleasing things are being sold in stores. Not the least of which is little plastic bat decorations from my local dollar store that I promptly cut the wings off of and used the bodies as offerings to one of my deities while saving the wings for other witchy uses.

What uses, you ask? Well, let's think about the creatures these represent. Bats are nocturnal, and despite being beneficial to their environments are often misunderstood and people are scared of them with little actual reason to be as the only threats posed by wild bats is the potential for rabies. Which means they should be admired from a distance instead of close up and as long as one is careful there's nothing to fear from these lovely creatures. Bats are also unique in that they are the only mammal capable of true flight!

This translates into my own craft in many ways, but most notably in glamour related spells to make my own appearance slightly more frightening to those who would misunderstand me instead of see me as a beneficial part of their lives. Saves me a lot of hassle in dealing with people who would otherwise just be a waste of my time. Glamour spells to help bring out your own uniqueness can also really benefit from these bat wings as an ingredient!

There are many more uses, so I hope this post has sparked a few for others as well. And, if nothing else, perhaps brought up the potential idea for something that may not have otherwise been thought of ^^

Check me out and support me around the web!
patreon - weasyl - pinterest - youtube - live streaming

Banner was made by me in Photoshop. All photos here were taken by me specifically for this post. Text dividers belong to steemitbloggers. Animated banner by @zord189

text03.png

SB_new.png

Sort:  

Bats are such great pollinators and they eat so many bugs!! Love to see what you did with the wings!

Exactly! We have a bat house out back to attract them because we know they'll eat mosquitoes, flies, and even the big crickets that hop around out here because our area has the insect eating kind mostly. Saves us a lot of nasties coming in to our house instead because the bats eat them all XD

Yes!! Way to go!!!

Once again, I LOVE this idea! And bright Samhain blessings to you, @sigilmancy!


via GIPHY

Thanks! Once I realized Halloween would be on a Wednesday I was keeping these on deck and just waiting for it XD

Blessed Samhain to you as well, may tonight and the rest of the year treat you well :)

When I lived in AZ, we would go to old abandon mine shafts and go spelunking for bat guano, seriously spooky places and there would be 2-4 feet of bat shit in these caves/tunnels etc. With respirators and such we hauled tons of bat poop a doop to our land to feed 1200 fruit, nut and native trees. Love me some bats!

It's a natural fertilizer and so good for the soil! My grandmother had bat houses with openable bottoms for collecting the guano and she used to put it on her house plants. Bats are awesome indeed :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86