It's my STEEMIVERSARY! 2 Years hooked on Steem! Celebrated with outrageously expensive cookies

in #steemiversary5 years ago (edited)

Well actually, it was yesterday June the 4th. It's past 12 am here, so I'm giving you old news, but it's still the 4th somewhere, right?
But either way, June the 4th 2017 I first signed up with Steem and have been here ever since.
WHOOP!

2 years.jpg

And how was this celebrated, you ask? By getting up at 4 a.m. to get us all ready for a 2 hour and 40-minute drive to Dublin for my passport. Yes, I've done the same trip last year, but that time it was for my ID card, because I still have some outstanding taxes in Holland, and I was afraid they would stop me from getting the passport, but they HAVE to give you your ID. But since this year's Steemfest will be in Thailand, I will need the passport. I thought I'd get it done early. If there are any issues, I will have the time to do something about it. According to my documents, I should be alright, since they don't put a passport ban on someone for an amount under EUR 5000,- and mine is (luckily) just under that. Unless they charge ridiculous interest of course, which I can't put past them either. BUT, I'm going to put my positivity mask on and go from the best, not the worst case scenario.

Anyway, after I switched the alarm off twice, I finally jumped out of bed at 4.30 (because that alarm was one you'd use to wake the dead), took a shower, made my coffee and got the kids up and ready for our trip. Of course, my printer just gave up on me, so I had to print something along the way. The only place I was passing with a copy shop didn't open till 9 a.m. and it's 1.5 hours from us, so no point getting everyone in the car by 6. So for once, we could actually take our time!

After my appointment at the Dutch embassy at 11 a.m. I didn't really want to drive back right away. It was a really shitty, rainy day so we decided to drive to Dundrum (Dublin) and spend some time in the mall.
Because we all needed a break for a bit, we found the first coffee shop we saw and went inside. In retrospect I should have checked out other places, but my thoughts were: it's just coffee. Well, I really should have walked on...

The first impression of the place wasn't very inviting, but there was an upstairs and I thought it would be better there.
I was wrong.
After I ordered my coffee and the kids their drinks, I thought they could do with a treat and they all chose cookies that were displayed in the counter window. This kinda surprised me, because I was expecting they'd get cake, but not this time.
The biggest surprise, however, was when I got the bill. I had to pay more than 21 Euro for one coffee, three soft drinks and three cookies! Stupid little me would usually ask what the cookies cost...but this time I thought: it can't be that bad.
Well, I thought wrong.
3.45 for one damn cookie! Times 3!

cookie.jpg

For THIS???

IMG_20190604_142450.jpg

Now, WHEN did YOU ever spend 3.45 on a cookie? I wouldn't have spent it if it was in guilders, so let alone twice as much. I know we're way past the 'calculating back from EURO' stage, but for this occasion, I had to. This would have been more than 7 guilders for a cookie!!! WHAT??? Seven guilders back in the day would buy you lunch. Heck, 3.45 will buy ya at least a coffee and a cookie where I'm from. Even Starbucks doesn't charge that much.
My fault, I should have asked. So I decided to just let it go. At least we'd be able to enjoy it upstairs.
Wrong again. The place upstairs was possibly even less inviting. It was HOT. So hot even that we downed our drinks and left.

So Brambles cafe in Millpond Dundrum in Dublin gets a negative from me. We'll never be back here, that's for sure.

Luckily, the rest of the day was quite OK. It rained all day, so it was fun to be in 'the' city.

Just next time: no more cookies.
Now, keep your fingers crossed for my passport.
😬

Thank you for reading!



steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

Hey Miss Las Vegas. I'm sure you remember me. We got along so well at steemfest last year. It was so good spending time with you. Wow, so I hit my two years also, but frankly I've been kind of down on the platform and have just kept to my travel related content. Didn't even write a "two year" post. But it's inspiring to see your motivation is still here and going strong. Maybe it's the spark that I need.

Yes I remember my time in Belfast last year. Very expensive place in every way. Western Europe in general is one of the most expensive places to be, but still almost 4 USD cookies. Wow! That's pretty crazy. And those cookies don't even look like anything special.

So I'm going to keep on burning that steemit flame and hope things get better for the price and the platform. Spending my afternoon, visiting the few people I follow so here I am. Hope you are doing well!

From Guayaquil Ecuador! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Of course I remember you! I'm checking in on you from time to time to see where you are. Ecuador sounds like fun!

Yeah the cookies weren't really anything special. And to be honest: Dublin isn't either.
I prefer Belfast. Next time you're 'in the area' let me know, it's always nice to meet with Steemians so I'd drive pretty much anywhere from here.

Will you be going to Bangkok for this year's Steemfest? I hope to see you there!

Mr Las Vegas!!! So good to hear from you. Don't have any plans right now to go to Europe/Ireland. But at the moment I am planning on going to Bangkok for steemfest....but with me nothing is 100% until the tickets are bought. But most likely I'll be there. Again really enjoy hearing from you. So you are living in Dublin?

Me I'm n Ecuador for 2 more weeks, then New York to visit family. Then back down to Ecuador and then off on adventure through south America, most likely leading to Buenos Aires where my Ecuadorian Girlfriend and I will fly to Bangkok.

Have a great day! I'll be in touch.

No, I'm not in Dublin. I'm still about 2 1/2 hours from Dublin in County Mayo on the West Coast. But I'm also 'only' 3 hours from Belfast, so I do visit the city sometimes when I have the chance.

It would be great to see you this year!

That sounds like a lovely place to be. I'm not a big fan of cities in general. Love the country side and small/medium size towns. Would be great to see you as well! Have a excellent day!

Hi @misslasvegas!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.786 which ranks you at #1417 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1418).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #132.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @misslasvegas!

You just got a 0.27% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

happy Steemit Birthday @misslasvegas , Honestly the price of those cookies is feckin ridiculous, here's to another 2 years and then some on here xxx

Thank you @trucklife-family! And yes, feckin ridiculous is right... You wouldn't pay that kind of money for a cookie at Starbucks and they're crazy expensive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13